Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 18, 2016 at 14:30 comment added Kokodoko Oh.... I just found out.... you have to manually type "git mergetool".... that opens fileMerge with all the changes highlighted...
Mar 18, 2016 at 14:27 vote accept Kokodoko
Mar 18, 2016 at 14:27 comment added Kokodoko Thanks, that already answers my question why I couldn't merge (I had to have the two different versions available first). What remains now is how to get git to automatically open "opendiff/fileMerge" in case of a conflict. I suppose that's a different question.
Mar 18, 2016 at 14:11 comment added Jonathan.Brink Yes, that sounds like a plausible reason for that to happen...if you wanted to re-do the merge (after fixing your merge-tool) you should be able to do: git reset --hard MERGE_HEAD to get back to your pre-merge state
Mar 18, 2016 at 14:07 comment added Kokodoko The merge inserted comments in my file, that look like this: <<<<<<<HEAD key:7234095827345093458. Perhaps git couldn't find my fileMerge tool and inserted these codes for me to resolve in a text editor?
Mar 18, 2016 at 14:02 comment added Jonathan.Brink In this case, it looks like Git was able to peform the diff resolution for you...to be confident you have taken in what you intended a good "sanity check" tool that I use often is "gitk". It comes with the Git install so you should already have it. Just type "gitk" on your command terminal for a GUI-type view of your Git tree.
Mar 18, 2016 at 14:00 comment added Kokodoko Thanks I didn't realise that pull also merges. I have done a fetch and a merge, but nothing seems to happen - although git now says everything is up to date. I expected the merge to show a 'merge conflict' where you have to manually edit the changes you want to keep?
Mar 18, 2016 at 13:54 history answered Jonathan.Brink CC BY-SA 3.0