Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Question Protected by codeforester
rewording
Source Link

GITgit continues to confoundconfuse me with its unhelpful error warnings :( ThisThis one really deserves a prize:

"git merge is not possible because you have unmerged files"

git merge is not possible because you have unmerged files

My situation: My My master branch on github was edited (directly in the browser) while my local master branch was also edited.

Foolishly, I supposedwrongly suppose you could simply merge the two versions and be done with it, but alasalso, I cannot merge - because my files are unmerged.

git merge remote/master

results in

error: merge is not possible because you have unmerged files.
hint: Fix them up in the work tree, and then use 'git add/rm <file>'
hint: as appropriate to mark resolution and make a commit.
fatal: Exiting because of an unresolved conflict.

So, after adding and committing the local change and then trying to merge again, I get:

merge: remote/master - not something we can merge

Clearly I am missing something essential here... Do I have the wrong idea about what merging means? How do I fix this issue of having a different remote master / local master branch?

GIT continues to confound me with its unhelpful error warnings :( This one really deserves a prize:

"git merge is not possible because you have unmerged files"

My situation: My master branch on github was edited (directly in the browser) while my local master branch was also edited.

Foolishly, I supposed you could simply merge the two versions and be done with it, but alas, I cannot merge - because my files are unmerged.

git merge remote/master

results in

error: merge is not possible because you have unmerged files.
hint: Fix them up in the work tree, and then use 'git add/rm <file>'
hint: as appropriate to mark resolution and make a commit.
fatal: Exiting because of an unresolved conflict.

So, after adding and committing the local change and then trying to merge again, I get:

merge: remote/master - not something we can merge

Clearly I am missing something essential here... Do I have the wrong idea about what merging means? How do I fix this issue of having a different remote master / local master branch?

git continues to confuse me with its unhelpful error warnings This one really deserves a prize:

git merge is not possible because you have unmerged files

My situation: My master branch on github was edited (directly in the browser) while my local master branch was also edited.

I wrongly suppose you could simply merge the two versions and be done with it, but also, I cannot merge - because my files are unmerged.

git merge remote/master

results in

error: merge is not possible because you have unmerged files.
hint: Fix them up in the work tree, and then use 'git add/rm <file>'
hint: as appropriate to mark resolution and make a commit.
fatal: Exiting because of an unresolved conflict.

So, after adding and committing the local change and then trying to merge again, I get:

merge: remote/master - not something we can merge

Clearly I am missing something essential here... Do I have the wrong idea about what merging means? How do I fix this issue of having a different remote master / local master branch?

Source Link
Kokodoko
  • 27.7k
  • 36
  • 127
  • 200

Git merge is not possible because I have unmerged files

GIT continues to confound me with its unhelpful error warnings :( This one really deserves a prize:

"git merge is not possible because you have unmerged files"

My situation: My master branch on github was edited (directly in the browser) while my local master branch was also edited.

Foolishly, I supposed you could simply merge the two versions and be done with it, but alas, I cannot merge - because my files are unmerged.

git merge remote/master

results in

error: merge is not possible because you have unmerged files.
hint: Fix them up in the work tree, and then use 'git add/rm <file>'
hint: as appropriate to mark resolution and make a commit.
fatal: Exiting because of an unresolved conflict.

So, after adding and committing the local change and then trying to merge again, I get:

merge: remote/master - not something we can merge

Clearly I am missing something essential here... Do I have the wrong idea about what merging means? How do I fix this issue of having a different remote master / local master branch?