Skip to main content
Grammar. (Missing "that".)
Source Link
Mateen Ulhaq
  • 26.6k
  • 20
  • 115
  • 147

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. How do I undo this so that these changes won'twill not be included in the commit?

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. How do I undo this so these changes won't be included in the commit?

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. How do I undo this so that these changes will not be included in the commit?

deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
John Smith
  • 7.4k
  • 6
  • 51
  • 63

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. How do I undo this, so these changes won't be included in the commit?

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. How do I undo this, so these changes won't be included in the commit?

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. How do I undo this so these changes won't be included in the commit?

Shorten.; edited tags
Source Link
Mateen Ulhaq
  • 26.6k
  • 20
  • 115
  • 147

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. Is there a way toHow do I undo this, so these fileschanges won't be included in the commit?

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. Is there a way to undo this, so these files won't be included in the commit?

I mistakenly added files to Git using the command:

git add myfile.txt

I have not yet run git commit. How do I undo this, so these changes won't be included in the commit?

edited tags
Link
ashleedawg
  • 21.2k
  • 9
  • 78
  • 113
Loading
edited tags
Link
Braiam
  • 4.5k
  • 11
  • 49
  • 80
Loading
Active reading [<https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Git>].
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 31.3k
  • 22
  • 109
  • 132
Loading
Notice added Needs detailed answers by Bhargav Rao
active reading, removed incorrect use of notes (let a mod add it as an actual post note instead of a part of the question)
Source Link
Loading
Discourage any more answers
Source Link
Jonathan Leffler
  • 746.6k
  • 144
  • 937
  • 1.3k
Loading
Add tag
Link
Dariusz WoĹşniak
  • 10.2k
  • 6
  • 62
  • 78
Loading
added 7 characters in body
Source Link
itzmebibin
  • 9.4k
  • 9
  • 49
  • 62
Loading
Made title into a question in a consistent format with other top questions
Link
Steve Chambers
  • 38.7k
  • 28
  • 169
  • 217
Loading
Fixed grammar
Source Link
Arslan Ali
  • 17.7k
  • 8
  • 61
  • 79
Loading
Little less wordy, removing gratuitous "that"
Source Link
oz10
  • 156.8k
  • 27
  • 97
  • 128
Loading
This seems like a good compromise between Arslan's edits, which you objected to, and your original wording. This way is more correct but still doesn't use any terminology that would be unfamiliar to a Git newbie. Also tweaked the code snippet just to make it more blatant the third word is a filename
Source Link
Mark Amery
  • 150.3k
  • 87
  • 415
  • 465
Loading
edited tags
Link
Nick Volynkin
  • 14.7k
  • 7
  • 46
  • 70
Loading
Reverting bad edit. Using the official git terminology is _not_ helpful to new git users.
Source Link
oz10
  • 156.8k
  • 27
  • 97
  • 128
Loading
The way information is being asked in question is wrong, and may mis-lead a newbie.
Source Link
Loading
Reverting two bad edits back to my original wording. The original wording is more helpful to git newbies than using the appropriate git terminology.
Source Link
oz10
  • 156.8k
  • 27
  • 97
  • 128
Loading
Corrected a flaw in the question
Source Link
tvanfosson
  • 529.9k
  • 102
  • 698
  • 798
Loading
Copy edited.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 31.3k
  • 22
  • 109
  • 132
Loading
Question Protected by oz10
this world is crumbling (cut the newbie)
Source Link
random
  • 9.9k
  • 10
  • 68
  • 84
Loading
edited tags
Link
skaffman
  • 401.9k
  • 96
  • 823
  • 774
Loading