Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • This is wasteful when used on a selector. If you just selected it from the document, you know it’s in the document.
    – Ry-
    Commented Feb 10 at 0:57
  • I would argue that by the same standard, many usages of jQuery are wasteful - but for some people it's still a valid choice and enough. I appreciate you taking the time to comment on this answer, but I think the downvote is not really appropriate, since I've answered the OP's question "How can I check the existence of an element in jQuery?" quite to the point. What do you think, @Ry-?
    – Oliver
    Commented Feb 16 at 13:46
  • I disagree. Often, uses of jQuery are a necessary tradeoff between efficiency and expressiveness. Not only is this one unnecessary, it also confuses the reader.
    – Ry-
    Commented Feb 16 at 17:12