Skip to main content
added 28 characters in body
Source Link
NoelC
  • 1.4k
  • 10
  • 16

Something no one's mentioned above...

According to my firewall log, VsHub.exe, Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHost.exe, and Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHostx64.exe all try to communicate online.

Addresses I saw to which there were outgoing connection attempts included 191.236.194.164 (Microsoft Azure, Wichita Kansas) and 23.102.160.172 (Microsoft Azure, Redmond Washington).

I realize "modern" software is supposed to be cloud-integrated, but...

As one who does not require anything from Microsoft Azure servers, and who is legitimately concerned with privacy and not leaking any part of what I'm working on to the outside world, I'd really like A) to have a way to choose not to run these programs, or B) be provided with settings to limit their chattiness online. Yes, the firewall blocks the connections, but that's a last resort.

Just a simple checkbox, "[ ] Contact Microsoft Azure Servers" would be nice. Whether that would mean not running the programs in question or just having them not make the online connections isn't of consequence to me. I guess from a resource perspective the former would be better as it would use fewer resources.

As a rule I wouldn't propose to change the files in an installed application's suite of files, but as I have a virtual machine environment within which I can test changes to Visual Studio 2015 without much consequence (snapshots are wonderful), I tried altering the permissions (to Denyremove inheritance then disallow Read and Execute for Users) on these three files.

Voila, no more VsHub applications running, trying to contact remote systems.

Visual Studio comes right up. I'm not seeing a downside here.

-Noel

Something no one's mentioned above...

According to my firewall log, VsHub.exe, Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHost.exe, and Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHostx64.exe all try to communicate online.

Addresses I saw to which there were outgoing connection attempts included 191.236.194.164 (Microsoft Azure, Wichita Kansas) and 23.102.160.172 (Microsoft Azure, Redmond Washington).

I realize "modern" software is supposed to be cloud-integrated, but...

As one who does not require anything from Microsoft Azure servers, and who is legitimately concerned with privacy and not leaking any part of what I'm working on to the outside world, I'd really like A) to have a way to choose not to run these programs, or B) be provided with settings to limit their chattiness online. Yes, the firewall blocks the connections, but that's a last resort.

Just a simple checkbox, "[ ] Contact Microsoft Azure Servers" would be nice. Whether that would mean not running the programs in question or just having them not make the online connections isn't of consequence to me. I guess from a resource perspective the former would be better as it would use fewer resources.

As a rule I wouldn't propose to change the files in an installed application's suite of files, but as I have a virtual machine environment within which I can test changes to Visual Studio 2015 without much consequence (snapshots are wonderful), I tried altering the permissions (to Deny Read and Execute for Users) on these three files.

Voila, no more VsHub applications running, trying to contact remote systems.

Visual Studio comes right up. I'm not seeing a downside here.

-Noel

Something no one's mentioned above...

According to my firewall log, VsHub.exe, Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHost.exe, and Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHostx64.exe all try to communicate online.

Addresses I saw to which there were outgoing connection attempts included 191.236.194.164 (Microsoft Azure, Wichita Kansas) and 23.102.160.172 (Microsoft Azure, Redmond Washington).

I realize "modern" software is supposed to be cloud-integrated, but...

As one who does not require anything from Microsoft Azure servers, and who is legitimately concerned with privacy and not leaking any part of what I'm working on to the outside world, I'd really like A) to have a way to choose not to run these programs, or B) be provided with settings to limit their chattiness online. Yes, the firewall blocks the connections, but that's a last resort.

Just a simple checkbox, "[ ] Contact Microsoft Azure Servers" would be nice. Whether that would mean not running the programs in question or just having them not make the online connections isn't of consequence to me. I guess from a resource perspective the former would be better as it would use fewer resources.

As a rule I wouldn't propose to change the files in an installed application's suite of files, but as I have a virtual machine environment within which I can test changes to Visual Studio 2015 without much consequence (snapshots are wonderful), I tried altering the permissions (to remove inheritance then disallow Read and Execute for Users) on these three files.

Voila, no more VsHub applications running, trying to contact remote systems.

Visual Studio comes right up. I'm not seeing a downside here.

-Noel

Source Link
NoelC
  • 1.4k
  • 10
  • 16

Something no one's mentioned above...

According to my firewall log, VsHub.exe, Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHost.exe, and Microsoft.VsHub.Server.HttpHostx64.exe all try to communicate online.

Addresses I saw to which there were outgoing connection attempts included 191.236.194.164 (Microsoft Azure, Wichita Kansas) and 23.102.160.172 (Microsoft Azure, Redmond Washington).

I realize "modern" software is supposed to be cloud-integrated, but...

As one who does not require anything from Microsoft Azure servers, and who is legitimately concerned with privacy and not leaking any part of what I'm working on to the outside world, I'd really like A) to have a way to choose not to run these programs, or B) be provided with settings to limit their chattiness online. Yes, the firewall blocks the connections, but that's a last resort.

Just a simple checkbox, "[ ] Contact Microsoft Azure Servers" would be nice. Whether that would mean not running the programs in question or just having them not make the online connections isn't of consequence to me. I guess from a resource perspective the former would be better as it would use fewer resources.

As a rule I wouldn't propose to change the files in an installed application's suite of files, but as I have a virtual machine environment within which I can test changes to Visual Studio 2015 without much consequence (snapshots are wonderful), I tried altering the permissions (to Deny Read and Execute for Users) on these three files.

Voila, no more VsHub applications running, trying to contact remote systems.

Visual Studio comes right up. I'm not seeing a downside here.

-Noel