Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Thanks Starscream1984. Given my current script, ideally I could somehow use the validate callback, but will probably end up doing exactly as you show. Commented Apr 21, 2015 at 17:19
  • I have the user entering an account number and then I want to get the account name from the server and ask the user if it is the right name, before allowing x-editable to update the field. So I need the ajax inside the validate() function and I need the validate() function to wait for the ajax response. Any ideas? Commented May 7, 2015 at 9:54
  • I think my original answer is relevant for your question too - validate() will only work for client-side validation, it will not wait for a response. You can have your success callback ask the user if the username from the response is correct. Commented May 7, 2015 at 10:24