Skip to main content
status update 2 - bug found in the code; deleted 1 characters in body
Source Link
Paya
  • 5.2k
  • 5
  • 47
  • 71

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update #1

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done.So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

An important point is that if I change the "Show Hidden Files" in Folder Options in Control panel, those OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs are not refreshed by the system, I must refresh them manually using F5. I'm just looking for a method how to refresh all those dialogs using C#, so I don't need to press F5 anymore...

Status Update #2

Ok, so new problem with the code above - it refresh not only windows explorers, but also internet explorers... Any idea how to refresh windows explorers ONLY?

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

An important point is that if I change the "Show Hidden Files" in Folder Options in Control panel, those OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs are not refreshed by the system, I must refresh them manually using F5. I'm just looking for a method how to refresh all those dialogs using C#, so I don't need to press F5 anymore...

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update #1

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

An important point is that if I change the "Show Hidden Files" in Folder Options in Control panel, those OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs are not refreshed by the system, I must refresh them manually using F5. I'm just looking for a method how to refresh all those dialogs using C#, so I don't need to press F5 anymore...

Status Update #2

Ok, so new problem with the code above - it refresh not only windows explorers, but also internet explorers... Any idea how to refresh windows explorers ONLY?
Added Folder Options note.; added 27 characters in body
Source Link
Paya
  • 5.2k
  • 5
  • 47
  • 71

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the OpenOpenFile/SaveSaveFile dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

An important point is that if I change the "Show Hidden Files" in Folder Options in Control panel, those OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs are not refreshed by the system, I must refresh them manually using F5. I'm just looking for a method how to refresh all those dialogs using C#, so I don't need to press F5 anymore...

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the Open/Save dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

An important point is that if I change the "Show Hidden Files" in Folder Options in Control panel, those OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs are not refreshed by the system, I must refresh them manually using F5. I'm just looking for a method how to refresh all those dialogs using C#, so I don't need to press F5 anymore...

status update #1
Source Link
Paya
  • 5.2k
  • 5
  • 47
  • 71

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the Open/Save dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

My program sets "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced" value "Hidden". Hovewer I'm not able to refresh the explorer to take into account this change. I've tried:

1)

    SHChangeNotify(SHCNE_ASSOCCHANGED, SHCNF_IDLIST, IntPtr.Zero, IntPtr.Zero);` 
    SHELLSTATE state = new SHELLSTATE(); 
    state.fShowAllObjects = (uint)1; 
    SHGetSetSettings(ref state, SSF.SSF_SHOWALLOBJECTS, true); 
  1.   SendMessageTimeout(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_SETTINGCHANGE, SPI_SETNONCLIENTMETRICS, 0, SMTO_ABORTIFHUNG, 5000, ref dwResult); 
    
  2.   SendMessage(HWND_BROADCAST, WM_COMMAND, 28931 /* Refresh */, 0); 
    

Nothing works. So what should I do? If I refresh Explorer myself with F5, then it works. Hovewer I would like some elegant solution, so it would refresh the display everywhere, even in OpenFile/SaveFile dialogs, which are currently open.

I'm using C# .NET, Win7.

Status Update

As Anders pointed out, there is a simple way to refresh explorer windows using COM:

Guid CLSID_ShellApplication = new Guid("13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000");
Type shellApplicationType = Type.GetTypeFromCLSID(CLSID_ShellApplication, true);
dynamic shellApplication = Activator.CreateInstance(shellApplicationType);
dynamic windows = shellApplication.Windows();
for (int i = 0; i < windows.Count; i++)
    windows.Item(i).Refresh();

So this part is done. Hovewer I still need to refresh the Open/Save dialogs, and the code above doesn't do that. Does anybody know how to refresh those dialogs?

edited title
Link
John Saunders
  • 161.4k
  • 26
  • 249
  • 401
Loading
added 51 characters in body
Source Link
Max Shawabkeh
  • 38.4k
  • 10
  • 83
  • 92
Loading
Improved formatting
Source Link
Treb
  • 20.1k
  • 8
  • 56
  • 87
Loading
Source Link
Paya
  • 5.2k
  • 5
  • 47
  • 71
Loading