Skip to main content
Add Shell syntax highlighting
Source Link
Benjamin Loison
  • 5.5k
  • 4
  • 18
  • 37

Based on this article I found this method easier for my usecase.

My 'dev' branch was ahead of 'origin/dev' by 96 commits (so these commits were not pushed to the remote yet).

I wanted to squash these commits into one before pushing the change. I prefere to reset the branch to the state of 'origin/dev' (this will leave all changes from the 96 commits unstaged) and then commit the changes at once:

git reset origin/dev
git add --all
git commit -m 'my commit message'
git reset origin/dev
git add --all
git commit -m 'my commit message'

Based on this article I found this method easier for my usecase.

My 'dev' branch was ahead of 'origin/dev' by 96 commits (so these commits were not pushed to the remote yet).

I wanted to squash these commits into one before pushing the change. I prefere to reset the branch to the state of 'origin/dev' (this will leave all changes from the 96 commits unstaged) and then commit the changes at once:

git reset origin/dev
git add --all
git commit -m 'my commit message'

Based on this article I found this method easier for my usecase.

My 'dev' branch was ahead of 'origin/dev' by 96 commits (so these commits were not pushed to the remote yet).

I wanted to squash these commits into one before pushing the change. I prefere to reset the branch to the state of 'origin/dev' (this will leave all changes from the 96 commits unstaged) and then commit the changes at once:

git reset origin/dev
git add --all
git commit -m 'my commit message'
Source Link
trudolf
  • 2k
  • 1
  • 17
  • 11

Based on this article I found this method easier for my usecase.

My 'dev' branch was ahead of 'origin/dev' by 96 commits (so these commits were not pushed to the remote yet).

I wanted to squash these commits into one before pushing the change. I prefere to reset the branch to the state of 'origin/dev' (this will leave all changes from the 96 commits unstaged) and then commit the changes at once:

git reset origin/dev
git add --all
git commit -m 'my commit message'