Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Edited title to better express question being asked and removed language tag.
Link
martineau
  • 122.4k
  • 29
  • 176
  • 307

How do Ito download a file over HTTP using Python?

I updated the grammar in the question. Title could also be updated to "How do I download a file using Python"
Source Link

I have a small utility that I use to download aan MP3 file from a website on a schedule and then builds/updates a podcast XML file which I've obviously added to iTunes.

The text processing that creates/updates the XML file is written in Python. However, I use wget inside a Windows .bat file to download the actual MP3 howeverfile. I would prefer to have the entire utility written in Python though.

I struggled though to find a way to actually down loaddownload the file in Python, thus why I resorted to using wget.

So, how do I download the file using Python?

I have a small utility that I use to download a MP3 from a website on a schedule and then builds/updates a podcast XML file which I've obviously added to iTunes.

The text processing that creates/updates the XML file is written in Python. I use wget inside a Windows .bat file to download the actual MP3 however. I would prefer to have the entire utility written in Python though.

I struggled though to find a way to actually down load the file in Python, thus why I resorted to wget.

So, how do I download the file using Python?

I have a small utility that I use to download an MP3 file from a website on a schedule and then builds/updates a podcast XML file which I've added to iTunes.

The text processing that creates/updates the XML file is written in Python. However, I use wget inside a Windows .bat file to download the actual MP3 file. I would prefer to have the entire utility written in Python.

I struggled to find a way to actually download the file in Python, thus why I resorted to using wget.

So, how do I download the file using Python?

removed irrelevant tags, and meta, the post itself looks ok
Source Link
Loading
Question Protected by CommunityBot
added urllib / urllib2 / python-requests tags
Link
Loading
edited tags
Link
prakash
  • 59.5k
  • 25
  • 93
  • 115
Loading
Source Link
Owen
  • 22.7k
  • 13
  • 42
  • 48
Loading