Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • This command starts to work for me, it shows me the diff side by side. However, as soon as I try and edit anything the vim window goes crazy. I start typing and I get a bash prompt behind the words in vim on either side of the screen. So it seems to display the diff, but then vim crashes. Additionally, I get this error Vim: Error reading input, exiting... any ideas what is going wrong here?
    – Trevor
    Commented Jun 10, 2014 at 0:06
  • @Trevor: I could only guess what the problems are. It is indeed not save to make any modifications while diffing like this. Hence I have added "-M" parameter to disallow it entirely. Sorry. Commented Jun 12, 2014 at 18:13