Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 1
    Thanks @AdamS, though I dare to disagree. If you peek at the code of private bool m_immediateFlush = true; and override protected void Append(LoggingEvent loggingEvent) in v1.2.10 TextWriterAppender , you'll agree with me that ImmediateFlush is true by default and so the appender actually calls Flush() on each Append() as I already said in the Q. Commented Mar 20, 2013 at 16:29
  • 1
    Edited my answer with the test program I used. With that I can see events immediately flushed. Do you not see the same behavior?
    – Adam S
    Commented Mar 29, 2013 at 16:20
  • Thanks AdamS, that's a great idea. I'll try tomorrow hopefully. Commented Apr 3, 2013 at 19:15
  • AdamS, I've updated the Q - UPDATE 2013-06-19. I appreciate the effort you've put into this so far. I guess an acceptable answer really could sound "If you cannot reproduce it, it's not a bug" :D I'm starting to suspect there might be an issue in the alert collector after all. Commented Jun 19, 2013 at 22:01
  • 7
    Resolved! It was both W2k8 and our log parsing tool. W2k8 came with delayed modification time updates "feature" : blogs.technet.com/b/asiasupp/archive/2010/12/14/… And our tool was removing log file checkpoints after 3 days. Together, this created a false feeling and confusion that logging was delayed. The reproduced behavior is that modification is not updated until the file write handle is closed UNLESS the first write is tiny, then it is updated on every subsequent write. Weird feature that is Commented Jul 18, 2013 at 10:24