Skip to main content
Active reading [<https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Git>]. Fixed the question formation - missing auxiliary (or helping) verb - see e.g. <https://ww.youtube.com/watch?v=t4yWEt0OSpg&t=1m49s> (see also <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kS5NfSzXfrI> (QUASM)) - alternatively, drop the question mark.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 31.3k
  • 22
  • 109
  • 132

How tocan I revert multiple gitGit commits?

I have a gitGit repository that looks like this:

A <- B <- C <- D <- HEAD

I want the head of the branch to point to A, i.e., I want B, C, D, and HEAD to disappear and I want head to be synonymous with A.

It sounds like I can either try to rebase (doesn't apply, since I've pushed changes in between), or revert. But how do I revert multiple commits? Do I revert one at a time? Is the order important?

How to revert multiple git commits?

I have a git repository that looks like this:

A <- B <- C <- D <- HEAD

I want the head of the branch to point to A, i.e. I want B, C, D, and HEAD to disappear and I want head to be synonymous with A.

It sounds like I can either try to rebase (doesn't apply, since I've pushed changes in between), or revert. But how do I revert multiple commits? Do I revert one at a time? Is the order important?

How can I revert multiple Git commits?

I have a Git repository that looks like this:

A <- B <- C <- D <- HEAD

I want the head of the branch to point to A, i.e., I want B, C, D, and HEAD to disappear and I want head to be synonymous with A.

It sounds like I can either try to rebase (doesn't apply, since I've pushed changes in between), or revert. But how do I revert multiple commits? Do I revert one at a time? Is the order important?

Move the pointers in the right direction
Source Link
prosoitos
  • 7.1k
  • 5
  • 29
  • 42

I have a git repository that looks like this:

A <-> B <-> C <-> D <-> HEAD

I want the head of the branch to point to A, i.e. I want B, C, D, and HEAD to disappear and I want head to be synonymous with A.

It sounds like I can either try to rebase (doesn't apply, since I've pushed changes in between), or revert. But how do I revert multiple commits? Do I revert one at a time? Is the order important?

I have a git repository that looks like this:

A -> B -> C -> D -> HEAD

I want the head of the branch to point to A, i.e. I want B, C, D, and HEAD to disappear and I want head to be synonymous with A.

It sounds like I can either try to rebase (doesn't apply, since I've pushed changes in between), or revert. But how do I revert multiple commits? Do I revert one at a time? Is the order important?

I have a git repository that looks like this:

A <- B <- C <- D <- HEAD

I want the head of the branch to point to A, i.e. I want B, C, D, and HEAD to disappear and I want head to be synonymous with A.

It sounds like I can either try to rebase (doesn't apply, since I've pushed changes in between), or revert. But how do I revert multiple commits? Do I revert one at a time? Is the order important?

edited title
Link

Revert How to revert multiple git commits?

deleted 4 characters in body
Source Link
the Tin Man
  • 160.1k
  • 44
  • 218
  • 306
Loading
Nitpicking: removed double spaces, the A -> B -> C -> D -> HEAD looked a bit odd
Source Link
kryger
  • 13.1k
  • 8
  • 46
  • 67
Loading
edited tags
Link
tshepang
  • 12.3k
  • 24
  • 95
  • 138
Loading
deleted 210 characters in body
Source Link
Bill
  • 45.5k
  • 25
  • 126
  • 218
Loading
added 201 characters in body; added 9 characters in body
Source Link
Bill
  • 45.5k
  • 25
  • 126
  • 218
Loading
Source Link
Bill
  • 45.5k
  • 25
  • 126
  • 218
Loading