Skip to main content
15 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 3, 2022 at 18:00 history tweeted twitter.com/StackSpaceExp/status/1543655823892746242
Jun 30, 2022 at 19:23 answer added Tristan timeline score: 11
Jun 27, 2022 at 23:48 comment added Jörg W Mittag @CAJoeW: "So far, I am disappointed with responses. No response comes close to answering my simple query." – That is because you are asking the wrong people. You are asking: "Designated NASA folks responsible for the HDEV camera either ignore my queries or give evasive answers. WHY?" We are not mind-readers. We cannot tell you why a certain person does something or doesn't do something. Only that person can tell you that. You need to ask that person, not us.
Jun 27, 2022 at 16:00 comment added GdD I would like to give you some constructive advice on posting here. I have no problem with your question, it may have an interesting answer, however speaking for myself I wouldn't upvote or answer this because of the tone. You allude to some sort of conspiracy, which usually means you will vigorously argue every answer that doesn't fit the narrative you are trying to get. That could be why nobody has answered this. If you are looking at this site as a way to forward conspiracy theories then you're in the wrong place, if not leave that aspect out and you may get answers.
Jun 27, 2022 at 4:55 comment added CA Joe W So far, I am disappointed with responses. No response comes close to answering my simple query. Instead, responses seem to take issue with why I watch ISS or the factual statements I made. There is nothing political nor misstatement of my comments. Better that responses answer my simple query than raising "side-bar" issues.
Jun 27, 2022 at 4:53 comment added CA Joe W NASA or other body chooses to show or not show things around the world. There are many places that appear multiple times that to me are no more or less "interesting" than FSAL is. Moreover, images of most places, even interesting ones, are high level (not close-ups) and no better generally than the few of FSAL over 18 months.
Jun 27, 2022 at 4:42 comment added CA Joe W My point about something to "see" regards the essential NASA answer, that there's nothing that there is nothing of particular interest nor disinterest to explain why the camera goes off when passing over/near FSAL, apart from operational needs. I would accept that argument if outages were occasional; they're routine ... despite my noting that partial images have appeared and that other worldly locations at similar latitudes routinely produce images.
Jun 27, 2022 at 4:38 comment added CA Joe W I don't HAVE to see images from ISS HDEV camera. My point is: if ISS intends to capture images around the globe, why is the camera off nearly every pass over/near FSAL?
Jun 27, 2022 at 4:35 comment added CA Joe W I don't understand whoever asked why I think the camera is always off, that might be explained by location. I explained carefully and deliberately, there were at least 2 partial glimpses AND that views from similar latitudes routinely appear. Yet, nearly every pass, the cameras go off when approaching FSAL and back on after passing. This has been true regardless the direction from which ISS approaches FSAL.
Jun 26, 2022 at 9:15 comment added Jörg W Mittag I don't understand the logic behind your argument "If there’s nothing to “see” there, then let’s see FSAL routinely" Can you explain that to me? Surely, it is logical that if there is nothing to see there, it does not make sense to see it? Why would you want to waste extremely expensive and limited TDRS bandwidth to see a place where you already know there is nothing to see there?
Jun 26, 2022 at 3:05 comment added Erin Anne if you want images from space of FSAL, why do you want them from the ISS HDEV cameras? why not any of the other publicly-available satellite imaging that's made for the purpose of looking at particular places?
Jun 26, 2022 at 1:55 comment added uhoh What makes you think that "the ISS camera (nearly) always off", and not that due to the static nature of ground stations and geostationary communications satellite links it's just a bad spot for live video linking?
Jun 26, 2022 at 0:52 comment added Organic Marble Please quote some of the "evasive answers". Perhaps you just didn't understand them.
S Jun 26, 2022 at 0:47 review First questions
Jun 26, 2022 at 1:57
S Jun 26, 2022 at 0:47 history asked CA Joe W CC BY-SA 4.0