Skip to main content
deleted 65 characters in body
Source Link
Speedphoenix
  • 5.3k
  • 4
  • 25
  • 55

Although it's an older question I just wanted to say that above answer uses the Young's modulus incorrectly. It is not supposed to be in the strength calculation. The sigma refers to a maximum strength (same units though force/area).

One typical value you could use is the yield strength of the material but you could also use another value the designer is comfortable with. For high strength alloys it should be in the range of 200 MPa.

Then the thickness for your parameters would be 0.11 mm for tangential stress and obviously half for the axial stress. For pressure vessels strength is rarely the limiting factor.

I've only just signed up, so I hope I'm doing this right :)

Although it's an older question I just wanted to say that above answer uses the Young's modulus incorrectly. It is not supposed to be in the strength calculation. The sigma refers to a maximum strength (same units though force/area).

One typical value you could use is the yield strength of the material but you could also use another value the designer is comfortable with. For high strength alloys it should be in the range of 200 MPa.

Then the thickness for your parameters would be 0.11 mm for tangential stress and obviously half for the axial stress. For pressure vessels strength is rarely the limiting factor.

I've only just signed up, so I hope I'm doing this right :)

Although it's an older question I just wanted to say that above answer uses the Young's modulus incorrectly. It is not supposed to be in the strength calculation. The sigma refers to a maximum strength (same units though force/area).

One typical value you could use is the yield strength of the material but you could also use another value the designer is comfortable with. For high strength alloys it should be in the range of 200 MPa.

Then the thickness for your parameters would be 0.11 mm for tangential stress and obviously half for the axial stress. For pressure vessels strength is rarely the limiting factor.

Corrected spelling errors
Source Link
Fred
  • 13.1k
  • 4
  • 41
  • 78

Although it's an older question I just wanted to say that above answer uses the Young's modulus wrongincorrectly. It is not supposed to be in the strenghtstrength calculation. The sigma refers to a maximum strength (same units though force/area). One

One typical value you could use is the yield strength of the material but you could also use another value the designer is comfortable with. For high strenghtstrength alloys it should be in the range of 200MPa200 MPa. Then

Then the thickness for your parameters would be 0.11mm11 mm for tangetialtangential stress and obviously half for the axial stress. For pressure vessels strength is rarely the limiting factor. I've

I've only just signed up, so I hope I'm doing this right :)

Although it's an older question I just wanted to say that above answer uses the Young's modulus wrong. It is not supposed to be in the strenght calculation. The sigma refers to a maximum strength (same units though force/area). One typical value you could use is the yield strength of the material but you could also use another value the designer is comfortable with. For high strenght alloys it should be in the range of 200MPa. Then the thickness for your parameters would be 0.11mm for tangetial stress and obviously half for the axial stress. For pressure vessels strength is rarely the limiting factor. I've only just signed up, so I hope I'm doing this right :)

Although it's an older question I just wanted to say that above answer uses the Young's modulus incorrectly. It is not supposed to be in the strength calculation. The sigma refers to a maximum strength (same units though force/area).

One typical value you could use is the yield strength of the material but you could also use another value the designer is comfortable with. For high strength alloys it should be in the range of 200 MPa.

Then the thickness for your parameters would be 0.11 mm for tangential stress and obviously half for the axial stress. For pressure vessels strength is rarely the limiting factor.

I've only just signed up, so I hope I'm doing this right :)

Source Link

Although it's an older question I just wanted to say that above answer uses the Young's modulus wrong. It is not supposed to be in the strenght calculation. The sigma refers to a maximum strength (same units though force/area). One typical value you could use is the yield strength of the material but you could also use another value the designer is comfortable with. For high strenght alloys it should be in the range of 200MPa. Then the thickness for your parameters would be 0.11mm for tangetial stress and obviously half for the axial stress. For pressure vessels strength is rarely the limiting factor. I've only just signed up, so I hope I'm doing this right :)