Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 10, 2019 at 16:47 comment added DrSheldon @called2voyage: Ah, correct you are. I don't link to answers nearly as much as I do questions, and apparently when I do, I tend to write something like In [this answer](...). Whereas I do a lot of Related: followed by a bare question URL. I should have noticed the difference.
May 10, 2019 at 16:33 comment added called2voyage Mod @DrSheldon Bare URL only works for links to questions though.
May 10, 2019 at 16:32 comment added called2voyage Mod @DrSheldon Oh yeah, I do a bare URL in questions and answers too. I wish that worked in the comments.
May 10, 2019 at 16:31 comment added DrSheldon Just posted a sample below. I was wrong about the square brackets, just the bare URL. I do it all the time! I only know of it working from a question or answer (not a comment), to a question or answer (not a comment). I'm not sure if the different behavior regarding comments is intentional, or should be reported as a bug.
May 10, 2019 at 16:18 comment added called2voyage Mod @DrSheldon Didn't work in an answer for me either.
May 10, 2019 at 16:17 comment added called2voyage Mod @DrSheldon Didn't work in the comments at all. Was that what you were talking about?
May 10, 2019 at 16:17 comment added called2voyage Mod Test: [space.meta.stackexchange.com/q/1273/58] [space.meta.stackexchange.com/a/1274/58] [space.meta.stackexchange.com/questions/1273/… [astronomy.stackexchange.com/q/31824/6] [astronomy.stackexchange.com/a/31825/6] [astronomy.stackexchange.com/questions/31767/…
May 10, 2019 at 16:11 comment added DrSheldon @uhoh: If you simply do [url] with the url being a Space.SE question or answer, it automatically displays it as the question title. Not sure if it works with questions across different SE sites, though. Does not seem to work for comments.
May 10, 2019 at 11:36 comment added Rory Alsop Mod Also, using the share link allows you to gain points towards badges, whereas using the URL doesn't.
May 10, 2019 at 3:59 comment added uhoh I wish there was a magic text-generating button that would construct a [title](url) string and put it in my copy/paste buffer. It is so time-consuming to make those by hand, but I think people would use them all the time, even in comments. I think that the addition of the title (or eye-candy) would increase the frequency that people will go ahead and click through, increasing awareness.
May 9, 2019 at 23:29 comment added DrSheldon This is what I've been using in my posts. For what it's worth, you can also get links to comments. Place your mouse over the comment's time and date, right click (or your browser's equivalent), and choose "Copy Link Location" or similar item from the pop-up menu.
May 9, 2019 at 18:24 comment added called2voyage Mod @OrganicMarble You might want to use it for questions too, since the link in the title of the question is the long form, which has a portion of the title embedded.
May 9, 2019 at 18:20 vote accept Organic Marble
May 9, 2019 at 18:19 history answered called2voyageMod CC BY-SA 4.0