Skip to main content
added 27 characters in body
Source Link
Evorlor
  • 1.6k
  • 2
  • 18
  • 23

Option #1: The old standby

Deprecated stuff should never be used if there is another option. Any libraries built using this deprecated library will technically be deprecated. So your product would be deprecated before it was even finished.

It was deprecated for a reason. Typically that reason is that there is something better in every aspect, and you should use that.

Option #2: The shiny new solution

It sounds like this is the something better. I think you should bite the bullet, and climb that learning curve. This allows someone else to do the heavy lifting of creating it, updating it, and maintaining it. You don't want that on your plate.

Option #3: Roll my own

This is probably what I would do (despite my own advice). It does exactly what you want with zero overhead. You know exactly how it works. But...you have to make it. Making it will probably take longer than learning #2. Don't reinvent the wheel.

Summary

I think #1 and anything deprecated should be avoided like the plague. #3 sounds the most appealing, but I would advise #2.

Option #1: The old standby

Deprecated stuff should never be used if there is another option. Any libraries built using this deprecated library will technically be deprecated. So your product would be deprecated before it was even finished.

It was deprecated for a reason. Typically that reason is that there is something better in every aspect, and you should use that.

Option #2: The shiny new solution

It sounds like this is the something better. I think you should bite the bullet, and climb that learning curve. This allows someone else to do the heavy lifting of creating it, updating it, and maintaining it. You don't want that on your plate.

Option #3: Roll my own

This is probably what I would do (despite my own advice). It does exactly what you want with zero overhead. You know exactly how it works. But...you have to make it. Making it will probably take longer than learning #2.

Summary

I think #1 and anything deprecated should be avoided like the plague. #3 sounds the most appealing, but I would advise #2.

Option #1: The old standby

Deprecated stuff should never be used if there is another option. Any libraries built using this deprecated library will technically be deprecated. So your product would be deprecated before it was even finished.

It was deprecated for a reason. Typically that reason is that there is something better in every aspect, and you should use that.

Option #2: The shiny new solution

It sounds like this is the something better. I think you should bite the bullet, and climb that learning curve. This allows someone else to do the heavy lifting of creating it, updating it, and maintaining it. You don't want that on your plate.

Option #3: Roll my own

This is probably what I would do (despite my own advice). It does exactly what you want with zero overhead. You know exactly how it works. But...you have to make it. Making it will probably take longer than learning #2. Don't reinvent the wheel.

Summary

I think #1 and anything deprecated should be avoided like the plague. #3 sounds the most appealing, but I would advise #2.

added 188 characters in body
Source Link
Evorlor
  • 1.6k
  • 2
  • 18
  • 23

Option #1: The old standby

Deprecated stuff should never be used if there is another option. Any libraries built using this deprecated library will technically be deprecated. So your product would be deprecated before it was even finished.

It was deprecated for a reason. Typically that reason is that there is something better in every aspect, and you should use that.

Option #2: The shiny new solution

It sounds like this is the something better. I think you should bite the bullet, and climb that learning curve. This allows someone else to do the heavy lifting of creating it, updating it, and maintaining it. You don't want that on your plate.

Option #3: Roll my own

This is probably what I would do (despite my own advice). It does exactly what you want with zero overhead. You know exactly how it works. But...you have to make it. Making it will probably take longer than learning #2.

Summary

I think #1 and anything deprecated should be avoided like the plague. #3 sounds the most appealing, but I would advise #2.

Option #1: The old standby

Deprecated stuff should never be used if there is another option. It was deprecated for a reason. Typically that reason is that there is something better in every aspect, and you should use that.

Option #2: The shiny new solution

It sounds like this is the something better. I think you should bite the bullet, and climb that learning curve. This allows someone else to do the heavy lifting of creating it, updating it, and maintaining it. You don't want that on your plate.

Option #3: Roll my own

This is probably what I would do (despite my own advice). It does exactly what you want with zero overhead. You know exactly how it works. But...you have to make it. Making it will probably take longer than learning #2.

Summary

I think #1 and anything deprecated should be avoided like the plague. #3 sounds the most appealing, but I would advise #2.

Option #1: The old standby

Deprecated stuff should never be used if there is another option. Any libraries built using this deprecated library will technically be deprecated. So your product would be deprecated before it was even finished.

It was deprecated for a reason. Typically that reason is that there is something better in every aspect, and you should use that.

Option #2: The shiny new solution

It sounds like this is the something better. I think you should bite the bullet, and climb that learning curve. This allows someone else to do the heavy lifting of creating it, updating it, and maintaining it. You don't want that on your plate.

Option #3: Roll my own

This is probably what I would do (despite my own advice). It does exactly what you want with zero overhead. You know exactly how it works. But...you have to make it. Making it will probably take longer than learning #2.

Summary

I think #1 and anything deprecated should be avoided like the plague. #3 sounds the most appealing, but I would advise #2.

Source Link
Evorlor
  • 1.6k
  • 2
  • 18
  • 23

Option #1: The old standby

Deprecated stuff should never be used if there is another option. It was deprecated for a reason. Typically that reason is that there is something better in every aspect, and you should use that.

Option #2: The shiny new solution

It sounds like this is the something better. I think you should bite the bullet, and climb that learning curve. This allows someone else to do the heavy lifting of creating it, updating it, and maintaining it. You don't want that on your plate.

Option #3: Roll my own

This is probably what I would do (despite my own advice). It does exactly what you want with zero overhead. You know exactly how it works. But...you have to make it. Making it will probably take longer than learning #2.

Summary

I think #1 and anything deprecated should be avoided like the plague. #3 sounds the most appealing, but I would advise #2.