Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • @Philipp. Thanks. Both of your answers made the answer to my question very clear... A follow-up question - I've looked over the library and it looks like I might want to modify very heavily as I work on this component (the camera component of the app). I might end up changing perhaps 50% of the code in the main class... If this ends up being the solution, would forking be the proper way to start on this path? And then if it diverges enough to where it becomes a different project then I eventually just separate it into it's own project?
    – OdieO
    Commented Sep 25, 2013 at 18:14
  • 1
    That heavy of modifications, you probably want to run by the library author first. Either way, a github fork is the way to go. At least if he doesn't accept it, it will be easily found by other users. Commented Sep 25, 2013 at 18:16
  • OK, just to be super clear so I know where I'm heading. I fork it. If I end up making major mods then maybe the author accepts them all and the original project is now significantly altered. If they don't accept it then I either maintain my own fork or spin it off into a separate project. Is this right?
    – OdieO
    Commented Sep 25, 2013 at 18:22
  • Right. Keep in mind, they might accept part of your changes even if the entire thing isn't accepted. The closer you are to the official version, the easier it will be for you to maintain. Commented Sep 25, 2013 at 18:33