Skip to main content
Question Protected by gnat
Rollback to Revision 3
Source Link
Dynamic
  • 5.8k
  • 9
  • 45
  • 74

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment
print $foo; # this prints "bar"

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment
print $foo; # this prints "bar"

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

Rollback to Revision 2
Source Link
Dynamic
  • 5.8k
  • 9
  • 45
  • 74

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment
print $foo; # this prints "bar"

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment
print $foo; # this prints "bar"

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

added 37 characters in body
Source Link
Dynamic
  • 5.8k
  • 9
  • 45
  • 74

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment
print $foo; # this prints "bar"

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

When I am writing small scripts for myself, I stack my code high with comments (sometimes I comment more than I code). A lot of people I talk to say that I should be documenting these scripts, even though they are personal, so that if I ever do sell them, I would be ready. But aren't comments a form of documentation?

Wouldn't this:

$foo = "bar"; # this is a comment
print $foo; # this prints "bar"

be considered documentation, especially if a developer is using my code? Or is documentation considered to be outside of the code itself?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackProgrammer/status/201858161987170306
Corrected spelling
Link
Casey Patton
  • 5.2k
  • 7
  • 34
  • 41
Loading
Source Link
Dynamic
  • 5.8k
  • 9
  • 45
  • 74
Loading