Skip to main content
deleted 17 characters in body
Source Link
Schwern
  • 20.4k
  • 8
  • 77
  • 79

This answer only addresses the second charts. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's LawMathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

This answer only addresses the second charts. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

This answer only addresses the second charts. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

added 152 characters in body
Source Link
Schwern
  • 20.4k
  • 8
  • 77
  • 79

This answer only addresses the second charts. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

This answer only addresses the second charts. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

This answer only addresses the second charts. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

Mathemtician Matt Parker came out with a video about exactly this. Seems authoritative.
Source Link
Schwern
  • 20.4k
  • 8
  • 77
  • 79

This answer only addresses the second charts, and does not address whether Benford's Law is violated. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

As commenters have noted To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

This answer only addresses the second charts, and does not address whether Benford's Law is violated.

As commenters have noted, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

This answer only addresses the second charts. I'll let Mathematician Matt Parker address Benford's Law.

I can confirm [the result is] actually exactly what you'd expect, that's not out of order... And secondly Benford's Law is not a good test for election fraud. And I quote [from Benford's Law and the Detection of Election Law (2011)] "Benford's Law is problematic at best as a forensic tool when applied to elections".

To the graphs, the vertical scales are different. Narrow vertical scales make changes look larger. While wide vertical scales smooth out changes. Biden's graph is using a more narrow scale than Trump's.

I put them all together in one graph with the same scale and they don't look so different anymore.

Redrawn Graph

I haven't verified the data from the original graph is correct. I had to eyeball the numbers from the graphs.

It is suspicious because someone had to choose to use different vertical axes for each graph. It looks like a case straight out of How To Lie With Statistics.

Clarify this isn't an answer to the main question, and to dilute the over-stated claim about motivation.
Source Link
Oddthinking
  • 144k
  • 47
  • 564
  • 652
Loading
Mod Moved Comments To Chat
deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
Schwern
  • 20.4k
  • 8
  • 77
  • 79
Loading
Source Link
Schwern
  • 20.4k
  • 8
  • 77
  • 79
Loading