Skip to main content
Notice removed Needs citation by Sklivvz
Notice added Needs citation by Sklivvz
Inlined link.
Source Link
Oddthinking
  • 144k
  • 47
  • 564
  • 652

I'd rate that as fairly accurate, in terms of numbers.

Here's the data: The https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/crimeandjustice/compendium/focusonviolentcrimeandsexualoffences/yearendingmarch2016/homicideOffice of National Statistics have a chart:

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

The chart does indeed show a peak rate of 17.9 homicide incidents per 1,000,000 population for the year ending March, 2003.

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

I'm not sure what deeper conclusions can be drawn. Both the availability of weapons and the likelihood of being prosecuted could have an effect on crime rates.

I would mention that I don't know the political situation in the UK, or what would have caused such a change. It could be the handgun ban.

I'd rate that as fairly accurate, in terms of numbers.

Here's the data: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/crimeandjustice/compendium/focusonviolentcrimeandsexualoffences/yearendingmarch2016/homicide

The chart does indeed show a peak rate of 17.9 homicide incidents per 1,000,000 population for the year ending March, 2003.

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

I'm not sure what deeper conclusions can be drawn. Both the availability of weapons and the likelihood of being prosecuted could have an effect on crime rates.

I would mention that I don't know the political situation in the UK, or what would have caused such a change. It could be the handgun ban.

I'd rate that as fairly accurate, in terms of numbers.

The Office of National Statistics have a chart:

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

The chart does indeed show a peak rate of 17.9 homicide incidents per 1,000,000 population for the year ending March, 2003.

I'm not sure what deeper conclusions can be drawn. Both the availability of weapons and the likelihood of being prosecuted could have an effect on crime rates.

I would mention that I don't know the political situation in the UK, or what would have caused such a change. It could be the handgun ban.

I'd rate that as fairly accurate, in terms of numbers.

Here's the data: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/crimeandjustice/compendium/focusonviolentcrimeandsexualoffences/yearendingmarch2016/homicide

The chart does indeed show a peak rate of 17.9 homicide incidents per 1,000,000 population for the year ending March, 2003.

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

I'm not sure what deeper conclusions can be drawn. Both the availability of weapons and the likelihood of being prosecuted could have an effect on crime rates.

I would mention that I don't know the political situation in the UK, or what would have caused such a change. It could be the handgun ban.

I can also posit that I would rather be armed in the event of a violent crime being perpetrated upon me or a family member than not.

I'd rate that as fairly accurate, in terms of numbers.

Here's the data: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/crimeandjustice/compendium/focusonviolentcrimeandsexualoffences/yearendingmarch2016/homicide

The chart does indeed show a peak rate of 17.9 homicide incidents per 1,000,000 population for the year ending March, 2003.

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

I'm not sure what deeper conclusions can be drawn. Both the availability of weapons and the likelihood of being prosecuted could have an effect on crime rates.

I would mention that I don't know the political situation in the UK, or what would have caused such a change. It could be the handgun ban.

I can also posit that I would rather be armed in the event of a violent crime being perpetrated upon me or a family member than not.

I'd rate that as fairly accurate, in terms of numbers.

Here's the data: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/crimeandjustice/compendium/focusonviolentcrimeandsexualoffences/yearendingmarch2016/homicide

The chart does indeed show a peak rate of 17.9 homicide incidents per 1,000,000 population for the year ending March, 2003.

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

I'm not sure what deeper conclusions can be drawn. Both the availability of weapons and the likelihood of being prosecuted could have an effect on crime rates.

I would mention that I don't know the political situation in the UK, or what would have caused such a change. It could be the handgun ban.

Source Link

I'd rate that as fairly accurate, in terms of numbers.

Here's the data: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/crimeandjustice/compendium/focusonviolentcrimeandsexualoffences/yearendingmarch2016/homicide

The chart does indeed show a peak rate of 17.9 homicide incidents per 1,000,000 population for the year ending March, 2003.

UK Office of Natl. Statistics, Homicide Rates

I'm not sure what deeper conclusions can be drawn. Both the availability of weapons and the likelihood of being prosecuted could have an effect on crime rates.

I would mention that I don't know the political situation in the UK, or what would have caused such a change. It could be the handgun ban.

I can also posit that I would rather be armed in the event of a violent crime being perpetrated upon me or a family member than not.