Game Review: A Mortician's Tale


I'm playing through the itch.io Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality. You can follow along with all my game reviews.

How many people have you killed in a video game? Thousands? At least. But how many funerals have you performed in game? Hardly any.

It's hard to describe A Mortician's Tale as a game. It is a lovely experience where you play a new employee of a funeral home. The game is, literally, preparing the corpses and dealing with the families of the deceased.

A cartoon dead body.

Parts of the gameplay are reminiscent of the Wii's Trauma Centre surgeon simulator game. Scalpels, stiches, and fluids everywhere. This isn't a gory game, everything is handled sensitively.

It advertises itself as taking an hour to complete. That's about right. There are no real choices, no scores, and only a simple story. It's almost a trailer for what a full game could be and, frankly, I'd like to play a full-length version.

In a weird way, it reminded me of the deleted scenes in Austin Powers

Perhaps every blood 'n' guts shoot-em-up should force you to deal with the messy reality of your trail of the dead?

Verdict

Share this post on…

One thought on “Game Review: A Mortician's Tale”

  1. says:

    I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it... I found myself bored by it really quickly - but I'm more of an action game person anyway.

    Perhaps every blood ‘n’ guts shoot-em-up should force you to deal with the messy reality of your trail of the dead?

    That reminds me of 'The River of Death' in Metal Gear Solid 3. https://www.metalgearinformer.com/?p=23361

    Reply

What are your reckons?