This Artwork is an amiibo


A circular chip behind glass.

A few weeks ago, I picked up 20 NFC tags. But what to do with them? I know, let's make something impractical! I had this gorgeous Barret Biggers - Link Blot poster which had lain in a drawer for far too long. So I turned it into an Amiibo. Nestled in the corner, sandwiched between […]

Continue reading →

Game Review: Minit (and how to get it working on Ubuntu Linux)


Simple black and white graphics.

I'm playing through the itch.io Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality. You can follow along with all my game reviews. I like puzzle games, and Minit has a unique twist. You only have 60 seconds to complete each action. But, before we get onto the review, here's how to get it running on Linux. Linux […]

Continue reading →

Review: WiFi Endoscope


Lights around a camera.

DO NOT PUT WIFI DEVICES UP YOUR BUM! OR ANYONE ELSE'S BUM! Right, with that disclaimer out of the way, here's my review of the DDENDOCAM Snake Camera - a 2 metre long, endoscope style camera. People send me the weirdest stuff to review! Video Here's me investigating my sink drain. Aren't you glad you […]

Continue reading →

Game Review: EXTREME MEATPUNKS FOREVER


A cartoon person stands in front of ASCII art shelves in a supermrket.

I'm playing through the itch.io Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality. You can follow along with all my game reviews. The thing about EXTREME MEATPUNKS FOREVER is that it is EXTREME. And it is so EXTREME that it feels a little like a tweenager shouting about how bad-ass they are. The story aesthetic is gorgeous. […]

Continue reading →

Game Review: A Mortician's Tale


A cartoon dead body.

I'm playing through the itch.io Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality. You can follow along with all my game reviews. How many people have you killed in a video game? Thousands? At least. But how many funerals have you performed in game? Hardly any. It's hard to describe A Mortician's Tale as a game. It […]

Continue reading →

Symbian Won


Network access. Ask every time, disallow, ask first time?

I was working in the mobile phone industry just as smartphones were taking off. I saw the Palm Pilot rise and fall. I witnessed NEC and Sagem and a host of companies launch smartphones and then disappear. But the greatest tragedy of them all was Nokia and their Symbian Operating System. (Actually, Symbian's ownership and […]

Continue reading →

Game Review: Night in the Woods


A cat in a store.

I'm playing through the itch.io Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality. You can follow along with all my game reviews. Night in the Woods is a cute looking indie game, with one fatal flaw. ​Nothing happens in it. I gave the game an hour or so, and all I did was walk left and right […]

Continue reading →

Being Normal


"I consider this post incredibly racist. If it was the other way around then you'd soon have the snowflakes complaining. Do you honestly think ethnic people worry if they have to use a normal coloured plaster?"

A few months ago, UK supermarket Tesco released some flesh-toned sticking plasters. Whose flesh though? In this case, Tesco had them in a range of colours and shades. Because people come in all sorts of flavours. Naturally, some people (mostly old white dudes) were angry about this. Because they're angry about everything. Here's my "favourite" […]

Continue reading →

Game Review: A Short Hike


Blocky pixelated graphics.

I'm playing through the itch.io Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality. You can follow along with all my game reviews. This is the delightful indie game A Short Hike. I don't play many video games, because I find them arbitrary and confusing. They also go on far too long. But "Hike" is the perfect length. […]

Continue reading →

Review: Yanmai USB Microphone


An upright microphone.

We're in the age of endless conference calls. So I decided to spruce up my audio hardware. Sadly, I don't have the budget for a professional podcaster's microphone. Luckily, I was sent this cheapo model to review. And, I'm pleased to say, it's pretty good! Comes with a reasonably long USB cord, and a pop-shield. […]

Continue reading →