Book Review: The Fated Sky by Mary Robinette Kowal


A lady astronaut faces the planet Mars.

The Fated Sky looks forward to 1961, when mankind is well-established on the moon and looking forward to its next step: journeying to, and eventually colonizing, Mars.
Of course, the noted Lady Astronaut Elma York would like to go, but could the International Aerospace Coalition ever stand the thought of putting a woman on such a potentially dangerous mission?

I rushed to buy this book the minute I finished its prequel - The Calculating Stars. Mary Robinette Kowal has created an wonderful alternate history - dealing with the practical problems of going to Mars. Not just technical - but sociological.

It's not as as recklessly disaster ridden as Andy Weir's The Martian, but it has its fair share of heart-stopping moments. I'd gladly read a couple more books set in this universe.

It gets a little repetitive - with our fearless Astronette waxing lyrical about her love of baking, and a few too many paragraphs are dense technobabble and encrypted text. But I'd be churlish to call this anything other than great. It left me with a big grin on my face and a heart full of hope.

Verdict
📚 Enjoyed this review? Buy me a book from my wishlist.

Share this post on…

What links here from around this blog?

What are your reckons?