Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    Why NAT, which is something you want to avoid if at all possible? This sounds like a simple case for routing.
    – Ron Maupin
    Commented Nov 19, 2018 at 18:42
  • Maybe I don't need NAT per-se. I would normally bridge a virtual interface (which is on the same LAN as the VMs) to a physical interface, but then I'd be bypassing the VPN interface. That pulse secure VPN interface can't be bridged to anything, and by virtue of the VPN using a /32 as its address (I wish I could change it) means I also can't place anything in its subnet and use it as a gateway. It seemed that my only option was to make the VM traffic re-enter the host's routing table. I thought of NAT as a potential solution.
    – init_js
    Commented Nov 19, 2018 at 18:48
  • Right, you route between networks. You only use NAT when you must (private-to-public or overlapping network addressing). Bridging is what you do on the same network, but routing is between networks.
    – Ron Maupin
    Commented Nov 19, 2018 at 18:51