Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Even if you uncheck it though, when Java does an automatic update it will try to install it again. Forget to uncheck it and it will install itself 10 minutes later, then you have to remember to uninstall it after that later and you've still probably lost your search and home page to ask in your browsers. Commented Feb 26, 2015 at 4:54
  • 2
    @JasonGoemaat I think you can also uncheck it during installing updates. I'm not advocating adware - it totally sucks, and it sucks that it's included with jre, but I installed countless updates, unchecked and never had problems. Commented Feb 26, 2015 at 6:38
  • Unfortunately I'm not the only one that would perform updates on the server, besides I've breezed through what I thought would be a normal update without installing additional software without recognizing the box to uncheck myself :) Commented Feb 26, 2015 at 7:22