Skip to main content
added 119 characters in body
Source Link
blueFast
  • 4.5k
  • 15
  • 38
  • 56

I found the error. It was because I am using a script to setup the certificates, and one of the steps I am performing is apache2ctl configtest. The error was coming from this command, and not from apache restart, which was what was misleading me. Since I was running the apache2ctl command as normal user, it had no access the the keyfiles, and thus the error message.

Facit: make sure all your apache commands are run with sudo, even the ones which are only intended for syntax verification (apache2ctl), since they alse need access to the keys.

I found the error. It was because I am using a script to setup the certificates, and one of the steps I am performing is apache2ctl configtest. The error was coming from this command, and not from apache restart, which was what was misleading me. Since I was running the apache2ctl command as normal user, it had no access the the keyfiles, and thus the error message.

Facit: make sure all your apache commands are run with sudo.

I found the error. It was because I am using a script to setup the certificates, and one of the steps I am performing is apache2ctl configtest. The error was coming from this command, and not from apache restart, which was what was misleading me. Since I was running the apache2ctl command as normal user, it had no access the the keyfiles, and thus the error message.

Facit: make sure all your apache commands are run with sudo, even the ones which are only intended for syntax verification (apache2ctl), since they alse need access to the keys.

Post Migrated Here from stackoverflow.com (revisions)
Source Link
blueFast
  • 4.5k
  • 15
  • 38
  • 56

I found the error. It was because I am using a script to setup the certificates, and one of the steps I am performing is apache2ctl configtest. The error was coming from this command, and not from apache restart, which was what was misleading me. Since I was running the apache2ctl command as normal user, it had no access the the keyfiles, and thus the error message.

Facit: make sure all your apache commands are run with sudo.