Skip to main content
Post Locked by CommunityBot
Post Migrated Away to superuser.com by MDMarra, Chopper3
Post Closed as "off topic" by MDMarra, Chopper3
Source Link

Virtualbox Shared folder problems on Fedora guest

I install vbox guest additions on fedora for using linux guest as server and my Win7 host for working. So, directory on my win (c:\web) mapped to linux /web and my apache server serve from this directory. I working on win and changing and renaming files, that causes errors on guest.

Some times i has something like 'ls: cannot access Environment.php: No such file or directory'

[root@web application]# ls -l
ls: cannot access _Environment.php: No such file or directory
total 28
-rwxrwx--- 1 root vboxsf 5325 Nov 21 03:01 Bootstrap.php
drwxrwx--- 1 root vboxsf 4096 Nov 21 02:52 configs
?????????? ? ?    ?         ?            ? _Environment.php
-rwxrwx--- 1 root vboxsf  943 Nov 21 02:32 Environment.temp.php
drwxrwx--- 1 root vboxsf 4096 Nov 20 13:52 forms
-rwxrwx--- 1 root vboxsf 1458 Nov 21 13:04 Init.php
...

Also i made a little test on php. I create file with check file_exists(). Then i make test file and has true. Then i remove file and has true again :
I check local folder and test was passed (true, false).

I can't found what a problem. I tried to reinstall vboxadd, recreate shared folder. Mount it from /etc/fstab, by mount -t vboxsf, by automount. And always has same issue. If i change file contents all works as expected. But if remove/add/rename files i has errors with ls: cannot access or with php can't determine removed file or not.

Please, where i can found error? I think problem in vboxsf file system, but where.

For info: guest - fedora 16 (upgraded by yum) host - win7 vm - virtualbox 4.1.6 vbox additions updated on guest and on version 4.1.6