Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

(I'm trying for a bit more precise answer, particularly with regard to multi-factor authentication, than I received for "Safe way to use a computer that has spyware/keylogger installed?" on SU"Safe way to use a computer that has spyware/keylogger installed?" on SU.)

Let's suppose that I am using a computer that is, for contractual/legal/policy reasons, extensively monitored. For argument's sake, let's assume that anything visible on screen and anything typed are captured (so on-screen keyboards are not secure). The policy allows me to make some personal use of the monitored computer, but not to disable or circumvent the monitoring (so I can't boot the computer into an unmonitored environment), nor to use my own personal computer. Can I use multi-factor authentication or some other method to safely authenticate to a remote service (e.g., to an OpenID provider, an email account, ssh, etc.)? By "safely," I mean in a way that will not permit someone who has access to the monitoring logs to authenticate to the remote service as me.

(I'm trying for a bit more precise answer, particularly with regard to multi-factor authentication, than I received for "Safe way to use a computer that has spyware/keylogger installed?" on SU.)

Let's suppose that I am using a computer that is, for contractual/legal/policy reasons, extensively monitored. For argument's sake, let's assume that anything visible on screen and anything typed are captured (so on-screen keyboards are not secure). The policy allows me to make some personal use of the monitored computer, but not to disable or circumvent the monitoring (so I can't boot the computer into an unmonitored environment), nor to use my own personal computer. Can I use multi-factor authentication or some other method to safely authenticate to a remote service (e.g., to an OpenID provider, an email account, ssh, etc.)? By "safely," I mean in a way that will not permit someone who has access to the monitoring logs to authenticate to the remote service as me.

(I'm trying for a bit more precise answer, particularly with regard to multi-factor authentication, than I received for "Safe way to use a computer that has spyware/keylogger installed?" on SU.)

Let's suppose that I am using a computer that is, for contractual/legal/policy reasons, extensively monitored. For argument's sake, let's assume that anything visible on screen and anything typed are captured (so on-screen keyboards are not secure). The policy allows me to make some personal use of the monitored computer, but not to disable or circumvent the monitoring (so I can't boot the computer into an unmonitored environment), nor to use my own personal computer. Can I use multi-factor authentication or some other method to safely authenticate to a remote service (e.g., to an OpenID provider, an email account, ssh, etc.)? By "safely," I mean in a way that will not permit someone who has access to the monitoring logs to authenticate to the remote service as me.

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSecurity/status/102868119537725440
Source Link
Isaac
  • 253
  • 2
  • 9

Safe way to authenticate (multi-factor authentication?) while being monitored?

(I'm trying for a bit more precise answer, particularly with regard to multi-factor authentication, than I received for "Safe way to use a computer that has spyware/keylogger installed?" on SU.)

Let's suppose that I am using a computer that is, for contractual/legal/policy reasons, extensively monitored. For argument's sake, let's assume that anything visible on screen and anything typed are captured (so on-screen keyboards are not secure). The policy allows me to make some personal use of the monitored computer, but not to disable or circumvent the monitoring (so I can't boot the computer into an unmonitored environment), nor to use my own personal computer. Can I use multi-factor authentication or some other method to safely authenticate to a remote service (e.g., to an OpenID provider, an email account, ssh, etc.)? By "safely," I mean in a way that will not permit someone who has access to the monitoring logs to authenticate to the remote service as me.