Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 4
    Actually kinect and its rivals require using your hand, only they don't require to hold a controller/joystick/gun. Now in the movie they don't show what they have meant by "using your hand" but I always assumed some sort of a neural connnection.
    – mg30rg
    Commented Jul 20, 2015 at 14:42
  • 3
    We're almost all the way to that point, too.. but I found myself recently musing about this exact point when I realized I could walk into the room, speak a few words, make a few gestures, play a dance game, make a few more gestures/incantations to shut the system down, all without touching a damn thing.
    – Josh
    Commented Jul 20, 2015 at 16:44
  • 1
    In addition to kinect, there are a bunch of supposedly mind controllers that have been floating around for several years. For example Emotiv. I think they've backed off the idea that they'd be good enough for playing games however. Commented Jul 20, 2015 at 17:17
  • 15
    This scene also correctly predicts what Elijah Wood would look like in 2015. Commented Jul 20, 2015 at 17:51
  • 2
    I had a Power Pad for my NES in 1986 or so. You used your feet instead of your hands. I also had the Power Glove, which used your hand in a different way.
    – Wad Cheber
    Commented Jul 21, 2015 at 1:27