Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 16
    This scene really bothered me when I saw the movie. When I read the book, I got the sense that the temptation was a grave matter, but that Galadriel was always in possession of herself. In the movie she seemed almost out of control, and not simply relieved but even half-surprised when she says the words "I pass the test." I loved the movie, but I feel that scene was done all wrong. They shouldn't have "turned it up to eleven."
    – Mario
    Commented Apr 20, 2015 at 13:58
  • 4
    I liked that scene. And yes, I have read the books. :)
    – Almo
    Commented Apr 21, 2015 at 18:59
  • 6
    @Mario I dunno. The exclamation points all over the place seem to suggest shouting or excitement, and the words themselves are pretty dramatic. I don't think she sounds in control of herself at all, and I think that fact is emphasized by her sounding "sad" and her declaration of "pass[ing] the test." Rather, she sounds like she is about to let loose a massive pent up desire for the ring. And after she speaks, something dramatic and powerful happens with her ring glowing, so the movie's crazy glowing and wind and echo voice are only a tad over the top. So the movie portrayal isn't that bad.
    – jpmc26
    Commented Apr 22, 2015 at 1:45
  • 7
    My eyes are playing tricks on me. "and suddenly she laughed again, and lol she was shrunken" Commented Apr 22, 2015 at 5:56
  • 4
    @Mario, true. I felt a key difference was "I pass the test" vs "I have passed the test". I.e. she chooses to decline vs she happened to decline Commented Apr 22, 2015 at 5:58