Skip to main content
properly formatted the quoted conversation
Source Link
LogicDictates
  • 123k
  • 23
  • 446
  • 540

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain.

From "Encounter at Farpoint":

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've I've said and listened to this a thousand times before.   

(Without the Visor Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing flashing red lights at his temples)
CRUSHER

CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life?
LAFORGE

LAFORGE: I was born this way.
  

CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this?
  

LAFORGE: They say it's because I use use my natural sensors in different ways.

soSo as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers.
LAFORGE

LAFORGE: Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two?
CRUSHER

CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.
LAFORGE

LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.
CRUSHER

CRUSHER: I understand.

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain.

From "Encounter at Farpoint"

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before.  (Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples)
CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life?
LAFORGE: I was born this way.
 CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this?
 LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

so as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers.
LAFORGE: Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two?
CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.
LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.
CRUSHER: I understand.

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain.

From "Encounter at Farpoint":

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before. 

(Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples)

CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life?

LAFORGE: I was born this way. 

CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this? 

LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

So as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers.

LAFORGE: Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two?

CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.

LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.

CRUSHER: I understand.

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain.

From "Encounter at Farpoint"

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before. (Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples)

CRUSHER
CRUSHER: You've been blind all your your life? LAFORGE
LAFORGE: I was born this way.   
CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all all the years that you've used this?

  
LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

so as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers. 
LAFORGE: Which Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two?

CRUSHER: 
CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.

LAFORGE
LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.

CRUSHER
CRUSHER: I understand understand.

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain.

From "Encounter at Farpoint"

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before. (Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples)

CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life? LAFORGE: I was born this way.  CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this?

 LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

so as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers. LAFORGE: Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two?

CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.

LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.

CRUSHER: I understand.

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain.

From "Encounter at Farpoint"

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before. (Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples)
CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life?
LAFORGE: I was born this way. 
CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this? 
LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

so as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers. 
LAFORGE: Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two? 
CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.
LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.
CRUSHER: I understand.

added 528 characters in body
Source Link
Andrew
  • 50.8k
  • 4
  • 196
  • 305

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain:.

From "Encounter at Farpoint"

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before. (Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples) 

CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life? LAFORGE: I was born this way. CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this? LAFORGE

LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

so as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers. LAFORGE: Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two?

CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.

LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.

CRUSHER: I understand.

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain:

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before. (Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples) CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life? LAFORGE: I was born this way. CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this? LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

so as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

In-universe, Geordi's VISOR causes him constant pain.

From "Encounter at Farpoint"

LAFORGE: Is a remarkable piece of bio-electronic engineering by which I quote see much of the EM spectrum ranging from simple heat and infrared through radio waves et cetera, et cetera, and forgive me if I've said and listened to this a thousand times before. (Without the Visor, Geordi La Forge's eyes are white sightless orbs, and he has flashing red lights at his temples) 

CRUSHER: You've been blind all your life? LAFORGE: I was born this way. CRUSHER: And you've felt pain all the years that you've used this?

LAFORGE: They say it's because I use my natural sensors in different ways.

so as soon as an alternative was possible, Geordi would have a strong reason to switch as soon as possible.

Geordi had been offered some means of eliminating the pain, but they are risky and/or would interfere with vision. From the same episode:

CRUSHER: Well, I see two choices. The first is painkillers. LAFORGE: Which would affect how this works. No. Choice number two?

CRUSHER: Exploratory surgery. Desensitise the brain areas troubling you.

LAFORGE: Same difference. No, thank you, Doctor.

CRUSHER: I understand.

Source Link
Andrew
  • 50.8k
  • 4
  • 196
  • 305
Loading