Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 12 at 15:23 comment added Alfred @Astrid_Redfern Well, there are dozens of entries. I'm not going to open them all to check against my memories of a single scene....
May 12 at 11:32 comment added Astrid_Redfern Does anything at tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/BrainUploading sound familiar?
May 11 at 23:23 comment added Andrew Thanks. I'm probably on the wrong track then
May 11 at 23:22 comment added Alfred @Andrew I am not sure the action was on Earth, the whole novel might have taken place somewhere else. But I do not remember space travel playing an important place.
May 11 at 23:21 comment added Andrew The Gateway series involves an alien base found on Venus, complete with spaceships programmed to automatically go to certain locations in space (FTL) and return. Humans risk their lives going out on these ships, and find valuable and dangerous things. In the later books, the ability to upload humans to computers is discovered - which is what reminded me of your question
May 11 at 23:17 comment added Alfred @Jenayah I think it was rather recent when I read it, but I really cannot be sure.
May 11 at 23:16 comment added Alfred @Andrew The titles don't ring a bell, but without any idea of the content, that does not prove much.
May 11 at 22:03 comment added Jenayah Any idea when it could have been from? Was it fairly new at the time of reading?
May 11 at 21:16 comment added Andrew The Heechee series en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heechee_Saga starting with Gateway. If it doesn't ring a bell then I'm wrong :)
May 11 at 21:14 comment added Alfred @Andrew "one of Pohl's Heechee books".. could you be more specific ? I don't know anything about that series.
May 11 at 21:13 comment added Andrew I wonder if this is one of Pohl's Heechee books, which do have uploading to computers (called "vastening"). It would probably be "Mr. Broadhead's mansion" since he got very rich.
May 11 at 21:05 history asked Alfred CC BY-SA 4.0