Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 16 at 18:30 comment added Amanadiel Offhand I can't think of any nuTrek references in Prodigy; it's most closely tied into Voyager with some references to older stuff. I suspect the pipeline for its style of animation simply takes too long to take faster-moving live-action releases into account.
Feb 16 at 18:28 comment added Amanadiel Yeah, I wouldn't say that Discovery is mandatory viewing for someone who just wants to watch SNW; the show stands on its own pretty well, and just a couple of lines of background suffice to give context. However, if someone's planning to watch all the new shows, there's a clear set of dependencies there, or at least expected knowledge.
Feb 14 at 13:23 vote accept FreeMan
Feb 14 at 4:32 comment added DaveG I managed to get through the 1st two seasons of Discovery because I thought it would help for SNW, but really it wasn't necessary. There's a tiny bit of backstory but it's pretty easy to figure out just from SNW
Feb 14 at 3:50 comment added trlkly Speaking of which, I've yet to see all of Prodigy. Does it have any crossovers with the rest of NuTrek?
Feb 14 at 3:47 comment added trlkly @psubsee2003 You should probably check out Prodigy. They pulled it off of Paramount+, but Netflix picked it up, and is going to run Season 2.
Feb 13 at 18:48 comment added psubsee2003 it's too similar to what Amanadiel wrote, IMO
Feb 13 at 18:27 comment added FreeMan Seems like that could be a stand alone answer, @psubsee2003, not a comment.
Feb 13 at 18:24 comment added psubsee2003 @FreeMan I was way behind in the new ST material as well until recenty. I ended up watching everything in this order: Picard > Discovery > SNW > Lower Decks. And I never felt i was lost with anything. So either I picked the right order or there isn't enough of a crossover. Although watching Discovery S1 and 2 as suggested is probably a must, but that is to mostly get the references that Pike makes in SNW
Feb 13 at 18:21 comment added psubsee2003 As someone who only watched SNW, I enjoyed the crossover episode with Lower Decks enough that I actually started watching Lower Decks as well.
Feb 13 at 18:12 comment added FreeMan Thanks! I think I may pretend that I started watching them as they aired/streamed back in 2017 and try to watch episodes in air date order. Will probably need to make myself a checklist, but hey, I can get my OCD geek on for that...
Feb 13 at 18:08 history answered Amanadiel CC BY-SA 4.0