Skip to main content
added 99 characters in body
Source Link
Spencer
  • 16k
  • 4
  • 60
  • 102

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well. (Outside the Legendarium, "Leaf by Niggle" is famously descriptive of Tolkien's creative process).

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees, and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dare to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). To Deborah Webster, 1958.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well.

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees, and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dare to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). To Deborah Webster, 1958.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well. (Outside the Legendarium, "Leaf by Niggle" is famously descriptive of Tolkien's creative process).

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees, and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dare to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). To Deborah Webster, 1958.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Correct letter citation
Source Link
Spencer
  • 16k
  • 4
  • 60
  • 102

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well.

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees, and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dareddare to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). This was a draft he never sentTo Deborah Webster, 1958.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well.

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dared to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). This was a draft he never sent.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well.

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees, and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dare to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). To Deborah Webster, 1958.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Had to mention Bilbo
Source Link
Spencer
  • 16k
  • 4
  • 60
  • 102

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well.

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dared to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). This was a draft he never sent.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well.

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dared to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). This was a draft he never sent.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Well, maybe.

Tolkien put a lot of himself into his legendarium, and it's almost inevitable that we recognize various pieces here and there.

Other answers, such as the one by @ibid have covered many of these pretty well.

But as for Hobbits, well, Tolkien had this really remarkable statement in one of his letters:

I am in fact a Hobbit (in all but size). I like gardens, trees and unmechanized farmlands. I smoke a pipe and like plain good food (unrefrigerated), but detest French cooking. I like and even dared to wear in these dull days ornamental waistcoats, I'm fond of mushrooms (out of a field). I have a very simple sense of humor (which even my appreciative critics find tiresome). I go to bed late and get up late when possible. I do not travel much.

Letter 213 (The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1981), Humphrey Carpenter, ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt paperback edition, 2000). This was a draft he never sent.

So at some point in his life, Tolkien viewed himself as a Hobbit. But was it a particular Hobbit? I don't know. The hobbits in The Lord of the Rings were all pretty atypical hobbits (Sam included) and their adventures only made them more so. Bilbo was as stodgy as Tolkien's self-description at the beginning of it all. But the mention of a fondness for mushrooms recalls Frodo's troubles with Farmer Maggot.

Source Link
Spencer
  • 16k
  • 4
  • 60
  • 102
Loading