Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 12, 2023 at 7:55 vote accept Tango
Apr 9, 2023 at 0:30 comment added Lexible I get the sense that the piece may also have inspired the notes of ST:Discovery's theme that kick off (after the first 4 notes of the 'space… the final frontier' motif).
Apr 8, 2023 at 3:16 comment added Tango @Lexible It's used in a number of episodes and the answer has a link to a good video about the episode it was written for. I'm surprised it was only used from S02 on, since it always seemed to be in so many episodes. Thanks for your comment on my description. I think combining the words Kurt and I used, like wistful, grandeur, ancient, and lost evoke the same kind of emotional response that the theme does.
Apr 7, 2023 at 23:55 answer added Yaroslav Kornachevskyi timeline score: 9
Apr 7, 2023 at 22:30 comment added Lexible It is also used in the episode "The Cloud Minders" when the cloud city first appears on screen. I think your "ancient grand civilization lost" is a decent description of the feelings evoked… grandeur at the very least.
Apr 7, 2023 at 17:37 comment added Tango @KurtFitzner: "wistful historical grandeur" is about right. I've called it "ancient grand civilization lost," so the intended feel certainly comes across. I was hoping it might be part of a longer piece. I hope it does show up somewhere, since I'd like a clean version of it.
Apr 7, 2023 at 17:16 comment added Kurt Fitzner Yes, it's used in other places. Off the top of my head it's also used in Who Mourns for Adonais, and several other places where they wanted to evoke some sort of wistful historical grandeur. Most of those clips had little names, but it will be a trick to find this one's name. I don't think it's on any soundtrack CDs because it's too short.
Apr 7, 2023 at 5:33 history asked Tango CC BY-SA 4.0