Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackSciFi/status/1610606996700495873
Became Hot Network Question
added 10 characters in body
Source Link
lfurini
  • 7.8k
  • 3
  • 40
  • 61

Maps in The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit have North/South/East/West marked on them, and I am wondering if anyone can tell me what these directions mean and how they are determined in-universe. 

The reason I'm wondering is that I don't recall anyone ever using a compass, or (since they lose all their gear an alarming number of times) either lamenting the loss of a compass or feeling glad that a compass was not lost, nor any other type of navigational instrument for that matter. I
I don't think they ever check bearings against the stars, although I haven't read The Lord of the Rings in a long while. Anyway
Anyway it's daylight when Thorin & Co. make a point of turning northwest after leaving Beorn's house. So what does it mean to them to "turn northwest," and how do they tell when they've done it?

Maps in The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit have North/South/East/West marked on them, and I am wondering if anyone can tell me what these directions mean and how they are determined in-universe. The reason I'm wondering is that I don't recall anyone ever using a compass, or (since they lose all their gear an alarming number of times) either lamenting the loss of a compass or feeling glad that a compass was not lost, nor any other type of navigational instrument for that matter. I don't think they ever check bearings against the stars, although I haven't read The Lord of the Rings in a long while. Anyway it's daylight when Thorin & Co. make a point of turning northwest after leaving Beorn's house. So what does it mean to them to "turn northwest," and how do they tell when they've done it?

Maps in The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit have North/South/East/West marked on them, and I am wondering if anyone can tell me what these directions mean and how they are determined in-universe. 

The reason I'm wondering is that I don't recall anyone ever using a compass, or (since they lose all their gear an alarming number of times) either lamenting the loss of a compass or feeling glad that a compass was not lost, nor any other type of navigational instrument for that matter.
I don't think they ever check bearings against the stars, although I haven't read The Lord of the Rings in a long while.
Anyway it's daylight when Thorin & Co. make a point of turning northwest after leaving Beorn's house. So what does it mean to them to "turn northwest," and how do they tell when they've done it?

added 39 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Buzz
  • 98.6k
  • 19
  • 299
  • 491

compass Compass/magnetic directions in Middle Earth-earth

Maps in LotRThe Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit have North/South/East/West marked on them, and I am wondering if anyone can tell me what these directions mean and how they are determined in-universe. The reason I'm wondering is that I don't recall anyone ever using a compass, or (since they lose all their gear an alarming number of times) either lamenting the loss of a compass or feeling glad that a compass was not lost, nor any other type of navigational instrument for that matter. I don't think they ever check bearings against the stars, although I haven't read LotRThe Lord of the Rings in a long while. Anyway it's daylight when Thorin & Co. make a point of turning northwest after leaving Beorn's house. So what does it mean to them to "turn northwest," and how do they tell when they've done it?

compass/magnetic directions in Middle Earth

Maps in LotR and The Hobbit have North/South/East/West marked on them and I am wondering if anyone can tell me what these directions mean and how they are determined in-universe. The reason I'm wondering is that I don't recall anyone ever using a compass, or (since they lose all their gear an alarming number of times) either lamenting the loss of a compass or feeling glad that a compass was not lost, nor any other type of navigational instrument for that matter. I don't think they ever check bearings against the stars, although I haven't read LotR in a long while. Anyway it's daylight when Thorin & Co. make a point of turning northwest after leaving Beorn's house. So what does it mean to them to "turn northwest," and how do they tell when they've done it?

Compass/magnetic directions in Middle-earth

Maps in The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit have North/South/East/West marked on them, and I am wondering if anyone can tell me what these directions mean and how they are determined in-universe. The reason I'm wondering is that I don't recall anyone ever using a compass, or (since they lose all their gear an alarming number of times) either lamenting the loss of a compass or feeling glad that a compass was not lost, nor any other type of navigational instrument for that matter. I don't think they ever check bearings against the stars, although I haven't read The Lord of the Rings in a long while. Anyway it's daylight when Thorin & Co. make a point of turning northwest after leaving Beorn's house. So what does it mean to them to "turn northwest," and how do they tell when they've done it?

Source Link
MissMonicaE
  • 2.7k
  • 1
  • 18
  • 35

compass/magnetic directions in Middle Earth

Maps in LotR and The Hobbit have North/South/East/West marked on them and I am wondering if anyone can tell me what these directions mean and how they are determined in-universe. The reason I'm wondering is that I don't recall anyone ever using a compass, or (since they lose all their gear an alarming number of times) either lamenting the loss of a compass or feeling glad that a compass was not lost, nor any other type of navigational instrument for that matter. I don't think they ever check bearings against the stars, although I haven't read LotR in a long while. Anyway it's daylight when Thorin & Co. make a point of turning northwest after leaving Beorn's house. So what does it mean to them to "turn northwest," and how do they tell when they've done it?