Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 1
    It's true that McDougal was a female chief engineer, but it's not yet clear if she was the first canonical reference to a female being a chief. I'll hold off on accepting for now but thanks for the quick reply. Commented Jun 6, 2022 at 13:20
  • 1
    @Michael Stachowsky - I wouldn't have advised you to accept an answer this early; like I said, this was purely off the top of my head. I'll look around and see if I can find any earlier examples, if someone doesn't beat me to it. Commented Jun 6, 2022 at 13:28
  • 1
    Process of elimination there likely wasn't even any novels not focused on the original Enterprise circa 1988 and STIV doesn't mention any details on who is trying to get the Yorktown's power back up. So this is almost certainly correct. Commented Jun 6, 2022 at 13:53
  • She held that position in 2364, in-universe.. That's the way of future proofing your answers :-)
    – SJuan76
    Commented Jun 7, 2022 at 19:47
  • I didn't see this episode. One thing I wonder about is why Picard gave Data a shot, right around the 2:00 minute mark of the video. He's an android, it should have had no effect on him.
    – user143126
    Commented Jun 8, 2022 at 17:07