Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 2
    I don't think we have enough Westron vocabulary to know, but presumably "The Fenced Fields" would be the English translation.
    – OrangeDog
    Commented May 29, 2022 at 18:05
  • 22
    I dispute the assumption this question is based on. Once you name a place, people use the name. Nobody talks about "Rat's Mouth, Florida" or "Red Stick, Louisiana."
    – DavidW
    Commented May 29, 2022 at 21:59
  • 2
    Yeah, just because they did not speak Sindarin, did not mean they stopped calling locations by their traditional names. Commented May 30, 2022 at 1:41
  • @DavidW I got the red stick immediately, but your rat's mouth made me googlemap. Thanks for a good nerd snipe.
    – Stian
    Commented May 30, 2022 at 11:02
  • @DavidW Thank you for your response and great examples! I agree with your rebuttal and anticipated the possibility of keeping the name as is (hence the first of three proposed possibilities in my question); I only know just enough to get confused. The particular thing that threw me was learning that Minas Morgul, formerly Minas Ithil, was also called Dushgoi--so I wondered if the non-Sindarin-speaking commonfolk continued to call the Pelennor Fields by its Sindarin name or if they opted for a different name, Westron or otherwise. Perhaps there is a better way I could phrase my question?
    – WiZΔRD
    Commented May 30, 2022 at 19:53