Skip to main content
Added a link the to question about math
Source Link
Machavity
  • 52.2k
  • 9
  • 167
  • 266

This may be subjective on my part (hence the question) but every time I read a comment or interview by Rowling I get the impression she’s building on the idea of “I had it all planned out from the beginning” (warning, TV Tropes link) and back justifies a lot of stuff in very weird ways.

Other than the old “being bad at math”acknowledging being bad at math, has she ever acknowledged openly something on the lines of “yeah, when I wrote that part this complete other side of the plot hadn’t been fully defined so I had to adjust a bit to make it work”? Or, “yeah that part about Slytherin being mostly bad became a pain later on when the series evolved.”

Note: this is not meant as a rant against her. 99% of the quotes I see for Rowling are on this site. As such it makes sense my perception is all are justifications as they are brought up to precisely answer a question on this site. I’m curious if she’s normally open about her work or not.

This may be subjective on my part (hence the question) but every time I read a comment or interview by Rowling I get the impression she’s building on the idea of “I had it all planned out from the beginning” (warning, TV Tropes link) and back justifies a lot of stuff in very weird ways.

Other than the old “being bad at math”, has she ever acknowledged openly something on the lines of “yeah, when I wrote that part this complete other side of the plot hadn’t been fully defined so I had to adjust a bit to make it work”? Or, “yeah that part about Slytherin being mostly bad became a pain later on when the series evolved.”

Note: this is not meant as a rant against her. 99% of the quotes I see for Rowling are on this site. As such it makes sense my perception is all are justifications as they are brought up to precisely answer a question on this site. I’m curious if she’s normally open about her work or not.

This may be subjective on my part (hence the question) but every time I read a comment or interview by Rowling I get the impression she��s building on the idea of “I had it all planned out from the beginning” (warning, TV Tropes link) and back justifies a lot of stuff in very weird ways.

Other than acknowledging being bad at math, has she ever acknowledged openly something on the lines of “yeah, when I wrote that part this complete other side of the plot hadn’t been fully defined so I had to adjust a bit to make it work”? Or, “yeah that part about Slytherin being mostly bad became a pain later on when the series evolved.”

Note: this is not meant as a rant against her. 99% of the quotes I see for Rowling are on this site. As such it makes sense my perception is all are justifications as they are brought up to precisely answer a question on this site. I’m curious if she’s normally open about her work or not.

Tweeted twitter.com/StackSciFi/status/1505876887331086341
Became Hot Network Question
added 295 characters in body
Source Link
Jorge Córdoba
  • 14.5k
  • 13
  • 68
  • 105

This may be subjective on my part (hence the question) but every time I read a comment or interview by Rowling I get the impression she’s building on the idea of “I had it all planned out from the beginning” (warning, TV Tropes link) and back justifies a lot of stuff in very weird ways.

Other than the old “being bad at math”, has she ever acknowledged openly something on the lines of “yeah, when I wrote that part this complete other side of the plot hadn’t been fully defined so I had to adjust a bit to make it work”? Or, “yeah that part about Slytherin being mostly bad became a pain later on when the series evolved.”

Note: this is not meant as a rant against her. 99% of the quotes I see for Rowling are on this site. As such it makes sense my perception is all are justifications as they are brought up to precisely answer a question on this site. I’m curious if she’s normally open about her work or not.

This may be subjective on my part (hence the question) but every time I read a comment or interview by Rowling I get the impression she’s building on the idea of “I had it all planned out from the beginning” (warning, TV Tropes link) and back justifies a lot of stuff in very weird ways.

Other than the old “being bad at math”, has she ever acknowledged openly something on the lines of “yeah, when I wrote that part this complete other side of the plot hadn’t been fully defined so I had to adjust a bit to make it work”? Or, “yeah that part about Slytherin being mostly bad became a pain later on when the series evolved.”

This may be subjective on my part (hence the question) but every time I read a comment or interview by Rowling I get the impression she’s building on the idea of “I had it all planned out from the beginning” (warning, TV Tropes link) and back justifies a lot of stuff in very weird ways.

Other than the old “being bad at math”, has she ever acknowledged openly something on the lines of “yeah, when I wrote that part this complete other side of the plot hadn’t been fully defined so I had to adjust a bit to make it work”? Or, “yeah that part about Slytherin being mostly bad became a pain later on when the series evolved.”

Note: this is not meant as a rant against her. 99% of the quotes I see for Rowling are on this site. As such it makes sense my perception is all are justifications as they are brought up to precisely answer a question on this site. I’m curious if she’s normally open about her work or not.

Source Link
Jorge Córdoba
  • 14.5k
  • 13
  • 68
  • 105

Has Rowling ever recognised mistakes or inconsistencies?

This may be subjective on my part (hence the question) but every time I read a comment or interview by Rowling I get the impression she’s building on the idea of “I had it all planned out from the beginning” (warning, TV Tropes link) and back justifies a lot of stuff in very weird ways.

Other than the old “being bad at math”, has she ever acknowledged openly something on the lines of “yeah, when I wrote that part this complete other side of the plot hadn’t been fully defined so I had to adjust a bit to make it work”? Or, “yeah that part about Slytherin being mostly bad became a pain later on when the series evolved.”