Skip to main content
added 3 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
LogicDictates
  • 124.4k
  • 24
  • 448
  • 544

Why Dobby didn't Dobby simply mention Tom Riddle to Harry?

Dobby is a complicated character. Quote:

Quote: I’ve just got one question, Dobby,’ said Harry, as Dobby pulled on Harry’s sock with shaking hands. ‘You told me all this had nothing to do with He Who Must Not Be Named, remember? Well –’

‘It was a clue, sir,’ said Dobby, his eyes widening, as though this was obvious. ‘Dobby was giving you a clue. The Dark Lord, before he changed his name, could be freely named, you see?’

I imagine I haven't understandunderstood what he wanted to say.

If Voldemort (Tom Riddle) couldcould be named freely, why he didn't say his former name the first time.? Though, he is saying he had given him a clue? Without namingsaying the name?

Why Dobby didn't simply mention Tom Riddle to Harry?

Dobby is a complicated character.

Quote: I’ve just got one question, Dobby,’ said Harry, as Dobby pulled on Harry’s sock with shaking hands. ‘You told me all this had nothing to do with He Who Must Not Be Named, remember? Well –’

‘It was a clue, sir,’ said Dobby, his eyes widening, as though this was obvious. ‘Dobby was giving you a clue. The Dark Lord, before he changed his name, could be freely named, you see?’

I imagine I haven't understand what he wanted to say.

If Voldemort (Tom Riddle) could be named freely, why he didn't say his former name the first time. Though, he is saying he had given him a clue? Without naming?

Why didn't Dobby simply mention Tom Riddle to Harry?

Dobby is a complicated character. Quote:

I’ve just got one question, Dobby,’ said Harry, as Dobby pulled on Harry’s sock with shaking hands. ‘You told me all this had nothing to do with He Who Must Not Be Named, remember? Well –’

‘It was a clue, sir,’ said Dobby, his eyes widening, as though this was obvious. ‘Dobby was giving you a clue. The Dark Lord, before he changed his name, could be freely named, you see?’

I imagine I haven't understood what he wanted to say.

If Voldemort (Tom Riddle) could be named freely, why he didn't say his former name the first time? Though, he is saying he had given him a clue? Without saying the name?

Source Link
penz
  • 43
  • 1

Why Dobby didn't simply mention Tom Riddle to Harry?

Dobby is a complicated character.

Quote: I’ve just got one question, Dobby,’ said Harry, as Dobby pulled on Harry’s sock with shaking hands. ‘You told me all this had nothing to do with He Who Must Not Be Named, remember? Well –’

‘It was a clue, sir,’ said Dobby, his eyes widening, as though this was obvious. ‘Dobby was giving you a clue. The Dark Lord, before he changed his name, could be freely named, you see?’

I imagine I haven't understand what he wanted to say.

If Voldemort (Tom Riddle) could be named freely, why he didn't say his former name the first time. Though, he is saying he had given him a clue? Without naming?