Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Welcome to the site. Unfortunately, I could be wrong, but I suspect this might be one of those questions that gets closed on the basis that the answers are likely to be based purely on speculation, rather than evidence. As a general rule, answers that aren't based at least partly on evidence are frowned upon here, and questions which appear to invite such answers are frowned upon also. That said, I didn't click to view any of your spoilers, so I could be overlooking some relevant information. We'll have to wait and see how other users feel about this question. Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 2:27
  • @user14111 I see, thanks for pointing that out. I've added a link in the question to one such a review which I remember having read.
    – Piovezan
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 3:16
  • @LogicDictates I see. Thank you for let me know. If at the very least a portion of the Sci-Fi community exposed to my silly theory finds it interesting thoughtfood, I'll feel rewarded.
    – Piovezan
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 3:22
  • 1
    A few small edits would make your question much more objective and much less likely to be closed. 1) Edit out the question of whether it deserves praise. That is too subjective. 2) Change it from "can it be interpreted this way" (the answer to any such question is yes, if you want to, you can interpret it however you like) to "Is this what the story is saying?" (more answerable). Obviously, it is your choice whether to make these edits, but the question is on the border of being too subjective for the site.
    – Adamant
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 4:00
  • 1
    As for me, with such an obvious religious interpretation that fits with the story, and Ted Chiang's history of writing stories with quirky takes on religious ideas, I would find it kind of reaching to make it about Earth geopolitics. Also, I do not know whether Chang considers democracy, capitalism, and science to be "European" in nature, but do note that precursors to democracy are found throughout the world, and China was a pioneer in scientific research for millenia. As far as capitalism, we are talking about the country that invented paper money.
    – Adamant
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 4:03