Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
Edlothiad
  • 77.5k
  • 32
  • 394
  • 381

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply not to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, and I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodiesanybody’s guess.

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply not to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, and I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodies guess.

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply not to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, and I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybody’s guess.

edited body
Source Link
Edlothiad
  • 77.5k
  • 32
  • 394
  • 381

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply not to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, aidand I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodies guess.

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply not to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, aid I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodies guess.

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply not to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, and I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodies guess.

edited body
Source Link
NathanS
  • 3.7k
  • 5
  • 24
  • 59

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply lotnot to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, aid I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodies guess.

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply lot to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, aid I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodies guess.

Depending on the time you look at Thorin may or may not have had much of a plan. In the early meetings with Gandalf, Thorin suggests storming the mountain by force, routing the Dragon and reclaiming the Arkenstone:

I [Gandalf] promised to help him if I could. I was as eager as he was to see the end of Smaug, but Thorin was all for plans of battle and war, as if he were really King Thorin the Second, and I could see no hope in that.
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

And in the novel itself:

"[Storming the front gate] would be no good," said the wizard, "not without a mighty Warrior, even a Hero. I tried to find one; but warriors are busy fighting one another in distant lands, and in this neighbourhood heroes are scarce, or simply not to be found. Swords in these parts are mostly blunt, and axes are used for trees, and shields as cradles or dish-covers; and dragons are comfortably far-off (and therefore legendary). That is why I settled on burglary.
The Hobbit, Chapter 1: An Unexpected Journey

As the novel itself draws on, it seems more likely that Thorin doesn't have much of a plan and just seems to be following Gandalf's suggestion.

So I rode off back to Thorin in haste, to tackle the difficult task of persuading him to put aside his lofty designs and go secretly - and take Bilbo with him.

But that was not enough for me. I knew in my heart that Bilbo must go with him, or the whole quest would be a failure - or, as I should say now, the far more important events by the way would not come to pass. So I had still to persuade Thorin to take him.... Though I argued with him far into the night after Bilbo had retired, it was not finally settled until early the next morning. "Thorin was contemptuous and suspicious. 'He is soft,' he snorted.

... 'If this hobbit goes with you, you will succeed. If not, you will fail. A foresight is on me, aid I am warning you.'

'... if you flout my advice, you will walk to disaster.'

...So it was that the Quest of Erebor set out. I do not suppose that when it started Thorin had any real hope of destroying Smaug. There was no hope. Yet it happened. But alas!
Unfinished Tales, Part III: The Third Age, III: The Quest of Erebor

The above is a heavily condensed version of the excerpt in the Unfinished Tales. But it seems to show that Gandalf was convinced there was not much hope in war, or the destruction of Smaug. Just that Bilbo had to be taken along and that without him it would be destined to fail. Whether this was because he would be able to claim the Arkenstone and hearken the hearts of the Dwarves, or for any other purpose is anybodies guess.

Source Link
Edlothiad
  • 77.5k
  • 32
  • 394
  • 381
Loading