Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 3
    Thanks for the links, but they don't provide what I'm looking for. The pictures in your first link are nice, but don't offer any clue as to how it could operate; I'm not convinced that the photographed article is anything more than a static prop. The on-set pictures lead me to think that there were two versions of the prop used in actual TOS filming - moving and non-moving. The blueprint only shows superficial outlines, not the sort of mechanical details necessary to construct a replica which reproduces the motion as seen on-screen.
    – Anthony X
    Commented Jan 1, 2020 at 15:52
  • 3
    @AnthonyX That's fair. But I actually don't think there were two versions of the scanner. Unless I'm misunderstanding, this article about the console restoration suggests that there was only ever the single moving piece: startrek.com/article/… But if you're looking to recreate it, I'd suggest trying propmaking forums and the like. I'm sure someone's done it somewhere, or maybe try contacting the Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle to ask them about the restoration they did. Commented Jan 1, 2020 at 21:32
  • Thanks for that restoration article. It does provide some useful insight. It gives some clues about how it works, but still not enough to build a reproduction. Obviously, the article's author had what they needed to do it. As for my "two versions" remark, those additional pictures help me see my earlier misunderstanding.
    – Anthony X
    Commented Jan 1, 2020 at 21:46
  • I believe the folks at Star Trek Tour have recreated the scanner. They might be able to help you with the motion. startrektour.com Commented May 18, 2021 at 22:03