Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

16
  • 1
    But why would anyone be sorry if they get saved?
    – AIQ
    Commented Dec 16, 2019 at 20:18
  • 53
    @AIQ presumably no one would be; Harry's statement is sarcastic.
    – gowenfawr
    Commented Dec 16, 2019 at 20:20
  • 8
    @AIQ Merriam-Webster's definition of "sorry" is "feeling sorrow, regret, or penitence." The two are equivalent in this example; replace "you're not sorry" with "you're not feeling regret".
    – gowenfawr
    Commented Dec 16, 2019 at 20:28
  • 7
    @AIQ Just as a supplementary example - when someone tells you that a relative of theirs recently passed away, the most common response is "I am so sorry." Or, in response to any sort of someone else's bad news, it is fairly common to hear something like "Damn, really sorry you had to go through that." I am not sure about England, but in the US the term "sorry" is very often used to mean "regret."
    – Misha R
    Commented Dec 16, 2019 at 20:56
  • 2
    @FrankHopkins I would argue almost the exact opposite. I've heard people say they regret something that happened to them many times. But I've never heard of anyone saying "I'm sorry" for anything that happened to them. I would never say "I am sorry that you didn't save me a cookie," but I would possibly say "I regret that you didn't save me a cookie." I very much suspect that Harry's usage of "sorry" here is a Britishism. As an American, it took me several seconds to figure out what Harry could possibly mean, but I'm sure it was obvious to a Brit (or Rowling wouldn't have written it that way).
    – trlkly
    Commented Dec 17, 2019 at 10:25