Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Duplicate" by TheLethalCarrot, Jenayah, Dave Johnson, Edlothiad, Organic Marble story-identification
deleted 126 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
TheLethalCarrot
  • 143.8k
  • 64
  • 811
  • 880

I recall that, as a child, I purchased a science fiction anthology of short stories in British Home Stores (BHS) sometime in the mid 1980s. It had a reddish-orange cover with white writing and drawn pictures of aliens, space ships, etc. and I suspect it may have been specially made for BHS as well. It was about an inch or so thick and must have contained 20-25 stories from various authors.

I never got around to reading most of the stories but one I recall reading was about a ship automatically being prepped and armed, taking off and bombing an enemy city. The conclusion was that all the people had been wiped out and the systems kept the war going automatically because there was nobody left to turn the machinery off.

I've been thinking about that book recently and resolved to find it (or the stories at least) and get around to finally reading it. Does anyone know what this book was called? If anyone could name the story I describe, I'll have a starting point at least.

I recall that, as a child, I purchased a science fiction anthology of short stories in British Home Stores (BHS) sometime in the mid 1980s. It had a reddish-orange cover with white writing and drawn pictures of aliens, space ships, etc. and I suspect it may have been specially made for BHS as well. It was about an inch or so thick and must have contained 20-25 stories from various authors.

I never got around to reading most of the stories but one I recall reading was about a ship automatically being prepped and armed, taking off and bombing an enemy city. The conclusion was that all the people had been wiped out and the systems kept the war going automatically because there was nobody left to turn the machinery off.

I've been thinking about that book recently and resolved to find it (or the stories at least) and get around to finally reading it. Does anyone know what this book was called? If anyone could name the story I describe, I'll have a starting point at least.

I recall that, as a child, I purchased a science fiction anthology of short stories in British Home Stores (BHS) sometime in the mid 1980s. It had a reddish-orange cover with white writing and drawn pictures of aliens, space ships, etc. and I suspect it may have been specially made for BHS as well. It was about an inch or so thick and must have contained 20-25 stories from various authors.

I never got around to reading most of the stories but one I recall reading was about a ship automatically being prepped and armed, taking off and bombing an enemy city. The conclusion was that all the people had been wiped out and the systems kept the war going automatically because there was nobody left to turn the machinery off.

I've been thinking about that book recently and resolved to find it (or the stories at least) and get around to finally reading it.

Source Link
The Betpet
  • 193
  • 1
  • 5

Short story anthology, one story was about a warship being prepared and sent on a bombing run

I recall that, as a child, I purchased a science fiction anthology of short stories in British Home Stores (BHS) sometime in the mid 1980s. It had a reddish-orange cover with white writing and drawn pictures of aliens, space ships, etc. and I suspect it may have been specially made for BHS as well. It was about an inch or so thick and must have contained 20-25 stories from various authors.

I never got around to reading most of the stories but one I recall reading was about a ship automatically being prepped and armed, taking off and bombing an enemy city. The conclusion was that all the people had been wiped out and the systems kept the war going automatically because there was nobody left to turn the machinery off.

I've been thinking about that book recently and resolved to find it (or the stories at least) and get around to finally reading it. Does anyone know what this book was called? If anyone could name the story I describe, I'll have a starting point at least.