Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Occam Shave
  • 5.1k
  • 32
  • 64
deleted 60 characters in body
Source Link
TheLethalCarrot
  • 143.8k
  • 65
  • 811
  • 880

I have the traces of a short story bouncing around in my head. I'd guess it dates from the late 60's, or maybe 70's.

A guy has been out of circulation for several years (military? prison?) and returns home to a city in a shambles.

The notable part I remember is a girl gang, who like to whistle the tune of "I Wish I Was an Oscar Mayer Wiener", then laugh in a sinister manner. The protagonist never learns exactly what it means, but it's clearly not nice.

EDIT - Given my reading habits at the time, this was certainly sci-fi (the singular of which is, as we all know, scum-fum), and probably appeared in an anthology. It was presented as a dystopic/urban social decay situation. It also incorporated elements of social reversal, as there were no male gangs providing menace, only women. And the "Oscar Mayer" bit was certainly suggestive of sexual violence as well.

I have the traces of a short story bouncing around in my head. I'd guess it dates from the late 60's, or maybe 70's.

A guy has been out of circulation for several years (military? prison?) and returns home to a city in a shambles.

The notable part I remember is a girl gang, who like to whistle the tune of "I Wish I Was an Oscar Mayer Wiener", then laugh in a sinister manner. The protagonist never learns exactly what it means, but it's clearly not nice.

EDIT - Given my reading habits at the time, this was certainly sci-fi (the singular of which is, as we all know, scum-fum), and probably appeared in an anthology. It was presented as a dystopic/urban social decay situation. It also incorporated elements of social reversal, as there were no male gangs providing menace, only women. And the "Oscar Mayer" bit was certainly suggestive of sexual violence as well.

I have the traces of a short story bouncing around in my head. I'd guess it dates from the late 60's, or maybe 70's.

A guy has been out of circulation for several years (military? prison?) and returns home to a city in a shambles.

The notable part I remember is a girl gang, who like to whistle the tune of "I Wish I Was an Oscar Mayer Wiener", then laugh in a sinister manner. The protagonist never learns exactly what it means, but it's clearly not nice.

Given my reading habits at the time, this was certainly sci-fi, and probably appeared in an anthology. It was presented as a dystopic/urban social decay situation. It also incorporated elements of social reversal, as there were no male gangs providing menace, only women. And the "Oscar Mayer" bit was certainly suggestive of sexual violence as well.

added 414 characters in body
Source Link
WhatRoughBeast
  • 6.5k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 32

I have the traces of a short story bouncing around in my head. I'd guess it dates from the late 60's, or maybe 70's.

A guy has been out of circulation for several years (military? prison?) and returns home to a city in a shambles.

The notable part I remember is a girl gang, who like to whistle the tune of "I Wish I Was an Oscar Mayer Wiener", then laugh in a sinister manner. The protagonist never learns exactly what it means, but it's clearly not nice.

EDIT - Given my reading habits at the time, this was certainly sci-fi (the singular of which is, as we all know, scum-fum), and probably appeared in an anthology. It was presented as a dystopic/urban social decay situation. It also incorporated elements of social reversal, as there were no male gangs providing menace, only women. And the "Oscar Mayer" bit was certainly suggestive of sexual violence as well.

I have the traces of a short story bouncing around in my head. I'd guess it dates from the late 60's, or maybe 70's.

A guy has been out of circulation for several years (military? prison?) and returns home to a city in a shambles.

The notable part I remember is a girl gang, who like to whistle the tune of "I Wish I Was an Oscar Mayer Wiener", then laugh in a sinister manner. The protagonist never learns exactly what it means, but it's clearly not nice.

I have the traces of a short story bouncing around in my head. I'd guess it dates from the late 60's, or maybe 70's.

A guy has been out of circulation for several years (military? prison?) and returns home to a city in a shambles.

The notable part I remember is a girl gang, who like to whistle the tune of "I Wish I Was an Oscar Mayer Wiener", then laugh in a sinister manner. The protagonist never learns exactly what it means, but it's clearly not nice.

EDIT - Given my reading habits at the time, this was certainly sci-fi (the singular of which is, as we all know, scum-fum), and probably appeared in an anthology. It was presented as a dystopic/urban social decay situation. It also incorporated elements of social reversal, as there were no male gangs providing menace, only women. And the "Oscar Mayer" bit was certainly suggestive of sexual violence as well.

Tweeted twitter.com/StackSciFi/status/1090625866072289280
deleted 25 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
TheLethalCarrot
  • 143.8k
  • 65
  • 811
  • 880
Loading
edited tags
Link
user14111
  • 167.1k
  • 10
  • 718
  • 864
Loading
Source Link
WhatRoughBeast
  • 6.5k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 32
Loading