Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Sounds like you’ve got it. I wasn’t sure if the second story was part of the collection or not. What’s a verification copy tho?
    – Broklynite
    Commented Oct 25, 2018 at 7:39
  • thanks, that’s a really nice bit of info
    – Broklynite
    Commented Oct 25, 2018 at 11:42
  • "Liquid Life" also appeared in the anthology Great Stories of Science Fiction (Random House, 1951) edited by Murray Leinster. I don't remember a story about a universal solvent. So it's only a half a candidate for the likely anthology.
    – a4android
    Commented Oct 25, 2018 at 12:11
  • @user14111 You obviously have well-stocked library. My suggestion was only half-plausible, as I noted in my comment, and corroborated by yourself as being even more dubious than I first thought. Farley's "Liquid Life" wasn't a brilliant story. I'm amazed it was anthologized severally. Standards of writing have risen. The best story in TBOSF was Leinster's "Kingman" story IMHO. He contributed two other stories as well. I appreciate your detailed & well-researched response.
    – a4android
    Commented Oct 26, 2018 at 1:38