Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • I remember reading this one. It feels like something from Asimov's in the 1980s. I add more if I can recall the details. Commented Oct 2, 2018 at 17:04
  • I think this dates from earlier than @DoscoJones's recollection, but I can't recall enough to get a proper start hunting. Commented Oct 6, 2018 at 17:32
  • I have read a similar story, but as I misremember it the criminals were mostly elderly, and the repentant one was an arsonist. Possibly by Asimov. Commented Sep 11, 2020 at 2:51
  • I remember this story - I think it's Analog; will look
    – Andrew
    Commented May 15 at 0:11
  • This thread groups.google.com/g/rec.arts.sf.written/c/dwVu_dJSFFQ/m/… has a guy who remembers the story: I recall one where various crimes were made punishable by transportation to the new lunar colonies. And there was a rash of crimes by various people you'd never expect to commit crimes, such as fresh new engineers, young doctors, etc. One of these guys was the central point of the story, as he was inconsolable in his prison cell. See, he'd picked the minimum crime that was punishable by transportation, but had bungled it and wound up killing a bystander.
    – Andrew
    Commented May 15 at 22:22