Skip to main content
fixed minor typo
Source Link
Andrew
  • 52.1k
  • 4
  • 200
  • 309

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer canon sources if possible.

Notes:

  • I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.
  • Not a dupe of this question: that one acceptsexcepts junior positions, I'm asking about senior ones (but below Captain); that one's for all ships, I'm asking about a specific ship; that one regards named people, I don't care about names. Thus, the answers there don't address my question.

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer canon sources if possible.

Notes:

  • I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.
  • Not a dupe of this question: that one accepts junior positions, I'm asking about senior ones (but below Captain); that one's for all ships, I'm asking about a specific ship; that one regards named people, I don't care about names. Thus, the answers there don't address my question.

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer canon sources if possible.

Notes:

  • I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.
  • Not a dupe of this question: that one excepts junior positions, I'm asking about senior ones (but below Captain); that one's for all ships, I'm asking about a specific ship; that one regards named people, I don't care about names. Thus, the answers there don't address my question.
added 357 characters in body
Source Link
einpoklum
  • 10.1k
  • 8
  • 44
  • 103

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer canon sources if possible.

NoteNotes: I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.

  • I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.
  • Not a dupe of this question: that one accepts junior positions, I'm asking about senior ones (but below Captain); that one's for all ships, I'm asking about a specific ship; that one regards named people, I don't care about names. Thus, the answers there don't address my question.

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer canon sources if possible.

Note: I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer canon sources if possible.

Notes:

  • I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.
  • Not a dupe of this question: that one accepts junior positions, I'm asking about senior ones (but below Captain); that one's for all ships, I'm asking about a specific ship; that one regards named people, I don't care about names. Thus, the answers there don't address my question.
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Ham Sandwich
  • 13.7k
  • 4
  • 44
  • 112

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer cannoncanon sources if possible.

Note: I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer cannon sources if possible.

Note: I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.

In a military organization, the number of members of a given rank is generally lower the higher the rank is: fewer Lt. Commanders than Lieutenants, fewer Captains than Commander and so on. Also, obviously, people advance in rank as they gain experience (and thus age).

Now, on the Enterprise D, there are very few, if any, officers who are over 45 or 50 (also pretty few over 40 IIRC). Among Lt. Commanders and up, it seems the only middle-agers are Picard and for one season, Dr. Pulaski.

Out-of-universe, I suppose there are multiple reasons why this would be the case. But in universe, what's the explanation? Is it that:

  1. Older officers are mostly assigned to starbases or planetary installations?
  2. Officers who don't get promoted to more senior rank tend to retire much earlier?
  3. Picard and Pulaski are the exception, and the overall retirement age for non-admirals is early?

I'd prefer canon sources if possible.

Note: I'm ignoring Data as a special case; and I'm not sure how Klingon age works, so let's focus on Humans.

Tweeted twitter.com/StackSciFi/status/1018511135866281985
deleted 1 character in body; edited tags
Source Link
TheLethalCarrot
  • 143.8k
  • 64
  • 811
  • 880
Loading
Source Link
einpoklum
  • 10.1k
  • 8
  • 44
  • 103
Loading