Skip to main content
sp
Source Link
TGnat
  • 10.3k
  • 4
  • 49
  • 58

Isildur is a tragic hero, not a coward. Somewhat vilified at the Council of Elrond, especially in the film, it is easy to see how one could question his character. Isildur redeems himself shortly before his death in the Disaster of the Gladden Fields as told in Unfinished Tales.

The Dunedain are set upon by a host of overly aggressive orcs incensed by the Ring which Isildur carries:

And though it was unknown to them the Ring, cut from his black hand two years before, was still laden with Sauron's evil will and called to all his servants for their aid.

As the orcs press their attack Isildur finally understands the evil he carries:

"I cannot use it. I dread the pain of touching it. And I have not yet found the strength to bend it to my will. It needs onone greater than I now know myself to be. My pride has fallen. It should go to the Keepers of the Three.

As it becomes clear that the Dunedain will be defeated, Elendur, Isildur's son urges him to leave the battle so that he can take the Ring to the elves. Isildur responds:

I knew that i must do so;but I feared the pain. Nor could I go without your leave. Forgive me and my pride which has brought you to this doom.

Isildur has finally realized his mistake in taking the Ring for his own. He is broken and humbled. Knowing that just the touch of the Ring causes him great pain, he puts it on, hopeful that he can escape the battle and take the Ring to Keepers of the Three (elven rings) who are better equipped, physically and morally, to destroy the Ring.

Isildur is a tragic hero, not a coward. Somewhat vilified at the Council of Elrond, especially in the film, it is easy to see how one could question his character. Isildur redeems himself shortly before his death in the Disaster of the Gladden Fields as told in Unfinished Tales.

The Dunedain are set upon by a host of overly aggressive orcs incensed by the Ring which Isildur carries:

And though it was unknown to them the Ring, cut from his black hand two years before, was still laden with Sauron's evil will and called to all his servants for their aid.

As the orcs press their attack Isildur finally understands the evil he carries:

"I cannot use it. I dread the pain of touching it. And I have not yet found the strength to bend it to my will. It needs on greater than I now know myself to be. My pride has fallen. It should go to the Keepers of the Three.

As it becomes clear that the Dunedain will be defeated, Elendur, Isildur's son urges him to leave the battle so that he can take the Ring to the elves. Isildur responds:

I knew that i must do so;but I feared the pain. Nor could I go without your leave. Forgive me and my pride which has brought you to this doom.

Isildur has finally realized his mistake in taking the Ring for his own. He is broken and humbled. Knowing that just the touch of the Ring causes him great pain, he puts it on, hopeful that he can escape the battle and take the Ring to Keepers of the Three (elven rings) who are better equipped, physically and morally, to destroy the Ring.

Isildur is a tragic hero, not a coward. Somewhat vilified at the Council of Elrond, especially in the film, it is easy to see how one could question his character. Isildur redeems himself shortly before his death in the Disaster of the Gladden Fields as told in Unfinished Tales.

The Dunedain are set upon by a host of overly aggressive orcs incensed by the Ring which Isildur carries:

And though it was unknown to them the Ring, cut from his black hand two years before, was still laden with Sauron's evil will and called to all his servants for their aid.

As the orcs press their attack Isildur finally understands the evil he carries:

"I cannot use it. I dread the pain of touching it. And I have not yet found the strength to bend it to my will. It needs one greater than I now know myself to be. My pride has fallen. It should go to the Keepers of the Three.

As it becomes clear that the Dunedain will be defeated, Elendur, Isildur's son urges him to leave the battle so that he can take the Ring to the elves. Isildur responds:

I knew that i must do so;but I feared the pain. Nor could I go without your leave. Forgive me and my pride which has brought you to this doom.

Isildur has finally realized his mistake in taking the Ring for his own. He is broken and humbled. Knowing that just the touch of the Ring causes him great pain, he puts it on, hopeful that he can escape the battle and take the Ring to Keepers of the Three (elven rings) who are better equipped, physically and morally, to destroy the Ring.

Source Link
TGnat
  • 10.3k
  • 4
  • 49
  • 58

Isildur is a tragic hero, not a coward. Somewhat vilified at the Council of Elrond, especially in the film, it is easy to see how one could question his character. Isildur redeems himself shortly before his death in the Disaster of the Gladden Fields as told in Unfinished Tales.

The Dunedain are set upon by a host of overly aggressive orcs incensed by the Ring which Isildur carries:

And though it was unknown to them the Ring, cut from his black hand two years before, was still laden with Sauron's evil will and called to all his servants for their aid.

As the orcs press their attack Isildur finally understands the evil he carries:

"I cannot use it. I dread the pain of touching it. And I have not yet found the strength to bend it to my will. It needs on greater than I now know myself to be. My pride has fallen. It should go to the Keepers of the Three.

As it becomes clear that the Dunedain will be defeated, Elendur, Isildur's son urges him to leave the battle so that he can take the Ring to the elves. Isildur responds:

I knew that i must do so;but I feared the pain. Nor could I go without your leave. Forgive me and my pride which has brought you to this doom.

Isildur has finally realized his mistake in taking the Ring for his own. He is broken and humbled. Knowing that just the touch of the Ring causes him great pain, he puts it on, hopeful that he can escape the battle and take the Ring to Keepers of the Three (elven rings) who are better equipped, physically and morally, to destroy the Ring.